Coasters - Complete Singles As & Bs 1954-62 (CD)


$ 16.99


The Coasters were one of the vocal groups of the '50s and early '60s who bridged the gap between the doowop and R&B

The Coasters were one of the vocal groups of the '50s and early '60s who bridged the gap between the doowop and R&B eras of the early '50s through to the rock 'n' roll explosion and beyond, with a run of hits that extended into the 1960s. They began life as a spin-off from the doowop group The Robins, adopted by the up-and-coming songwriting and production team of Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller as a vehicle for their work, changing their name after their first hit from The Robins to The Coasters as they switched from Leiber & Stoller's Spark label to the Atlantic subsidiary Atco when the duo signed a production deal with the label. This great-value 56-track 2-CD set comprises all their A &B sides as The Robins and The Coasters from their Spark debut in 1954 through to 1962, plus, as a bonus, the two titles which appeared on their albums during the period and were not otherwise released on singles. It naturally features their eighteen chart entries from the period, including the legendary US and UK hits 'Searchin'', 'Yakety Yak', Charlie Brown' and 'Poison Ivy', plus other memorable US successes like 'Smokey Joe's Café', 'Down In Mexico', 'Youngblood', 'Hog For You Baby', 'Along Came Jones' and 'Little Egypt'. It's not only a hugely entertaining slice of R&B-flavoured rock 'n' roll, with hits that were landmarks along the rite of passage for many baby-boomers, but a testimony to the songwriting and production genius of Leiber and Stoller, their humorous 'street saga' songs providing the biggest of the group's hits.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Riot In Cell Block # 9
  • Wrap It Up
  • Loop De Loop Mambo
  • Framed
  • If Teardrops Were Kisses
  • Whadaya Want
  • One Kiss
  • I Love Paris
  • I Must Be Dreamin'
  • The Hatchet Man
  • Smokey Joe's Cafe
  • Just Like A Fool
  • Down In Mexico
  • Turtle Dovin'
  • One Kiss Led To Another
  • Brazil
  • Searchin'
  • Young Blood
  • Idol With The Golden Head
  • (When She Wants Good Lovin') My Baby Comes To Me
  • Sweet Georgia Brown
  • What Is The Secret Of Your Success
  • Dance!
  • Gee, Golly
  • Yakety Yak
  • Zing Went The Strings Of My Heart
  • The Shadow Knows
  • Sorry But I'm Gonna Have To Pass
Disc 2:
  • Charlie Brown
  • Three Cool Cats
  • Along Came Jones
  • That Is Rock And Roll
  • Poison Ivy
  • I'm A Hog For You
  • Run Red Run
  • What About Us
  • Besame Mucho - Part 1
  • Besame Mucho - Part 2
  • Wake Me, Shake Me
  • Stewball
  • Shoppin' For Clothes
  • The Snake And The Book Worm
  • Thumbin' A Ride
  • Wait A Minute
  • Little Egypt (Ying-Yang)
  • Keep On Rolling
  • Girls, Girls, Girls - Part 1
  • Girls, Girls, Girls - Part 2
  • Bad Blood
  • (Ain't That) Just Like Me
  • Teach Me How To Shimmy
  • Ridin' Hood
  • The Climb (Vocal)
  • The Climb (Instrumental)
  • Lola
  • My Babe

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: R & B

Language: English

Run Time: 140 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 12/09/16

UPC: 824046318024

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed