Coleman Hawkins - Intimate: Duo, Trio, Quartet & Quintet Recordings 1934-38 (CD)

Save 26%

$ 12.50 $ 16.99


There is no argument about Coleman Hawkins' position as 'Father of The Tenor Saxophone.'

There is no argument about Coleman Hawkins' position as 'Father of The Tenor Saxophone.' Nor is there any doubt about his firm dedication to musical modernity. He is often cited as one of the first of the 'Swing Era' musicians to have embraced the revolution of Bebop, a sea-change that took the vanguard of jazz away from the big band and back into the small combo. Indeed, many of Hawkins mid-1940s quartet and quintet sessions were to become seminal influences on an even younger generation of jazzmen, including, most famously of all, Sonny Rollins. However, Hawk's interest in more intimate musical settings had begun long before, during the mid-1930s. He was the first jazz saxophonist to record with just piano accompaniment - a challenge few of his peers ever took up - and in among the many orchestral sides recorded during his extended European stay from 1934 to 1939 he documented a further series of outstanding duo, trio, quartet and quintet performances. Recorded for a variety of European labels, these sessions are unjustly neglected masterpieces, generally overshadowed by Hawkins titanic achievements upon his return to America. Gathered together in this collection they offer definitive proof of Hawk's cutting edge ambitions: few jazzmen anywhere were playing with such invention, daring and drive in the 1930s, fewer still on an instrument still to convince some of its validity as a jazz voice. Eight decades later, these recordings sound like harbingers; in fact, jazz tenor saxophone starts here. This release features period photographs and a detailed booklet note by saxophonist and author Simon Spillett.

Track Listing

    • I Ain't Got Nobody
    • It Sends Me
    • On The Sunny Side of The Street
    • Lullaby
    • Lady Be Good
    • Lost In A Fog
    • Honeysuckle Rose
    • Something Is Gonna Give Me Away [take one]
    • Something Is Gonna Give Me Away [take two]
    • Lamentation [take one]
    • Lamentation [take two]
    • Devotion [take one]
    • Devotion [take two]
    • Stardust
    • Well All Right Then
    • Blues Evermore [take one]
    • Blues Evermore [take two]
    • Dear Old Southland [take one]
    • Dear Old Southland [take two]
    • Way Down Yonder In New Orleans [take one]
    • Way Down Yonder In New Orleans
    • I Know That You Know [take one]
    • I Know That You Know [take two]
    • When Buddha Smiles [take one]
    • When Buddha Smiles [take two]
    • Swinging In The Groove [take one]
    • Swinging In The Groove [take two]

    Additional Details

    Label: Acrobat

    Genre: Jazz

    Language: English

    Run Time: 74 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 04/08/16

    UPC: 824046438722

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed