Collins Kids - At Town Hall Party Vol.2 (DVD)

Save 38%
SKU: BVD20010

$ 18.43 $ 29.95


Another DVD-album from the Bear Family Records - country DVD series - At Town Hall Party -

'Town Hall Party' was among the first of the country music shows to be seen on U. S. television, making its debut in early 1952 and running until early 1961. Staged every Saturday in a theatre in Compton, a suburb of Los Angeles, the stage was made up to look like an old barn, thus continuing the traditions of the various live shows that were first heard on the radio airwaves three decades earlier. 'Town Hall Party' was created with its own cast of regular performers and musicians, boasting a house that was virtually a 'who's who' of the West Coast scene comprising such as Joe Maphis, Merle Travis, Skeets McDonald, Johnny Bond and Tommy Duncan. Jay Stewart (who later hosted the TV quiz show 'Let's Make A Deal'), and Tex Ritter were the MCs. The weekly show presented an equally impressive guest list. Among the many guests to appear were Johnny Cash, Patsy Cline, Eddie Cochran, The Collins Kids, Freddie Hart, Wanda Jackson, George Jones, Merle Lindsay, Bob Luman, Carl Perkins, Jim Reeves, Marty Robbins, Hank Snow and Gene Vincent. -

Now 'Town Hall Party' is reborn on DVD. Launched in 2002, this continuing DVD series present both individual artists' performances, compiled from different appearances on 'Town Hall Party', and complete cast shows selected from specific dates. Completely remastered, and presented with full colour booklets, these releases fully captured the atmosphere, artistry and sounds of a bygone country music age.

Track Listing

    • January 10, 1959:
    • Introduction by Jay Stewart
    • Shake A Hand
    • Stagger Lee
    • Shake, Rattle And Roll
    • January 3, 1959:
    • The Blues Medley
    • January 31, 1959:
    • Plain Jane
    • June 27, 1959:
    • Sweet Chile
    • By The Light Of The Silv'ry Moon
    • Hot Rod
    • August 22, 1959:
    • Kissin' Time
    • Bei mir bist du schoen
    • Ramrod (instrumental)
    • September 19, 1959:
    • Que Sera, Sera/Hound Dog
    • October 24, 1959:
    • So High, So Low (LaVERN BAKER)
    • Won't You Come Home Bill Bailey
    • November 28, 1959:
    • There'll Be Some Changes Made
    • The Lonesome Road
    • March 28, 1959:
    • Chantilly Lace
    • November 6, 1954 (bonus):
    • Mutt And Jeff Boogie

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Country

    Run Time: 86 mins

    Release Date: 01/02/07

    UPC: 4000127200105

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed