Conway Twitty - Rocks At The Castaway: Geneva-on-the-lake, Ohio; 3rd-9th August 1964 (CD)

SKU: BCD17413

$ 22.49 $ 29.99


2-CD Digipac (6-plated) with 24-page booklet, 29 tracks. Total playing tiome approx. 102 minutes

High-quality live recordings, made in 1964.
Rock 'n' Roll artist Conway Twitty at the turning point.
Carefully restored and re-mastered for CD release.
Best sound quality ever presented of this material.
Contains songs Conway never recorded either before or after these shows.

It's August 1964 and Conway Twitty and his band, the Lonely Blue Boys, are playing a gig at the Castaway, a club/bar at Geneva-on-the-Lake, Ohio, the lake being Lake Erie.

During the preceding seven years, Conway had been a rock 'n' roll star, placing 14 songs on the Top Hundred charts, with It's Only Make Believe making #1 in late 1958. By 1964 he was already looking to a career in country music either as a writer or performer. He had been recording country demos for several years and within a year of this Ohio engagement, he would record with Owen Bradley at Decca Records and set up a winning streak of chart entries that lasted for the next quarter of a century, right up until his early death at the age of 59 in 1993.

So, in 1964, he is still playing his rock 'n' roll catalogue but peppering his performance with a few country classics and recent hits. The engagement at the Castaway was recorded and the tapes lay around for many years until several albums of the material were issued in the late 70s. The albums released back then in the States, had poor sound and dire artwork on the sleeves. They were badly edited and not an edifying experience for the listener.

Listen as Conway and his band get the joint rockin' and jumpin' with an energetic set that moves along from start to finish. Twitty fans will revel in hearing these 'live' recordings in the best sound quality ever presented of this material. Several songs are included that Conway never ever recorded either before or after the engagement.
The booklet included in the digipak features the Castaway story together with newspaper articles, posters and illustrations.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Wheel Of Time
  • Money (That's What I Want) (incl introduction by Tommy 'Porkchop' Markham)
  • I'm Leavin' It Up To You
  • You Can't Judge A Book By The Cover
  • Funny How Time Slips Away
  • Your Cheatin' Heart
  • Irresistible You
  • Got My Mojo Working
  • Things
  • Lawdy Miss Clawdy
  • Big Boss Man
  • What A Dream
  • She's Mine
  • Hit Medley: What Am I Living For / Lonely Blue Boy / Halfway To Heaven / I'll Try / The Story Of My Love / Mona Lisa / C'est si bon / It's Only Make Believe / Danny Boy
Disc 2:
  • Baby, What's Wrong'
  • Rinky (instrumental) (by Denny Rice)
  • It Keeps Right On A-Hurtin'
  • The Pickup
  • Halfway To Heaven
  • Is A Bluebird Blue
  • Danny Boy / Mona Lisa - Medley
  • Shake Your Money Maker
  • Unchained Melody
  • I Ain't Goin' On
  • Born To Lose
  • Lonely Blue Boy
  • Dang Me
  • Memphis, Tennessee
  • What Am I Living For
  • It's Only Make Believe

Additional Details

Label: Bear Family Records

Genre: Pop/Rock

Run Time: 101 mins

Release Date: 04/24/15

UPC: 5397102174131

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed