Curse Of Lono - Severed (CD)

Save 15%

$ 14.50 $ 16.99


Sexy, sweaty and savage, Curse Of Lono explore the heart of darkness with unflinching accuracy

Founded and fronted by Felix Bechtolsheimer, formerly the singer-guitarist in British roots pioneers Hey Negrita, Curse Of Lono formed in early 2015, though the songs on 'Severed' were written over a 14-year period. They range from the perky, Paul Simon-ish new single 'Pick Up The Pieces' to the more lugubrious 'He Takes My Place', the almost jazzy 'London Rain' and the rootsy, rhythmic 'Send For The Whiskey'. The album belongs as much to the Americana tradition and old faithfuls such as Little Feat as it does to more modern, playful practitioners of the form such as Beck.

'Oli's a very clever guy,' praises Felix. 'He just gets it. He can make dance music or Americana - he played the piano parts on the last Willie Mason record. But I didn't want an Americana producer with a set formula, I wanted a completely blank canvas.'

Lyrically, the songs cover themes including infidelity and sexual jealousy, the death of friends, and Felix's personal struggle with heroin addiction. 'Although 'Severed' is a dark record in places, it is not an addiction record,' says Felix. 'It's about growing up enough to be able to share a drink with the ghosts of the past without letting them push you around.'

In the summer of 2015 Curse Of Lono added ex-Hey Negrita drummer Neil Findlay, lead guitarist Joe Hazell, bassist Charis Anderson and keyboardist Dani Ruiz Hernandez to the line-up. The band released their debut EP in October 2016 to glowing reviews, launching it with a sold-out gig at The Islington. The four tracks on the EP form the soundtrack to 'Saturday Night', a short film of inter-connected music videos directed by Alex Walker. 'Saturday Night', which stars Grant Masters and Marta Hermida, was released alongside the EP, with the four episodes premiering on Louder Than War, Relix, Indie Rock Café and Spindle Magazine.

Track Listing

    • Five Miles
    • Pick Up The Pieces
    • Each Time You Hurt
    • Just My Head
    • London Rain
    • He Takes My Place
    • Send For The Whisky
    • All I Got
    • Welcome Home
    • Don't Look Down

    Additional Details

    Label: Submarine Cat Records

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Language: English

    Run Time: 1 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 05/05/17

    UPC: 5065002142092

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed