David Allan Coe - Castles In The Sand / Hello In There Plus (CD)

SKU: BCD16127

$ 14.24 $ 18.99


1-CD with 36-page booklet, 21 tracks. Playing time 79:53 mns

An outlaw pioneer's best work? un-reissued on CD until now. Soulful songs and rock 'n' roll attitude - a sharp contrast to the sterility of today's country music. Include classic hits, such as The Ride and Mona Lisa's Lost Her Smile, as well as a duet with George Jones. Every CD has previously unissued bonus tracks. Essential listening for everyone who loves Waylon, Willie, and the '70s outlaws.

And now we continue our ongoing exploration of the unjustly overlooked David Allan Coe catalog. A life-long renegade, Coe has been one of the most colorful and unpredictable characters in country music? or any music. An outlaw pioneer, he didn't score many big hits, although he wrote several big hits for others? including Would You Lay With Me In A Field Of Stone and Take This Job And Shove It. He was also incredibly prolific: during thirteen years with Columbia Records, he released almost two LPs a year. Here, we focus on the years 1982-1985.

'Castles In The Sand' and 'Hello In There' come from 1983. Critics agree that 'Castles In The Sand' is one of the era's most underrated LPs - and one of the most haunted and strange. Coe wrote just three songs on the album, and co-wrote another. The title track is an autobiographical tribute to Bob Dylan as one of the two most misunderstood artists of his generation -Coe being the other. Coe emulates Dylan's voice throughout the verses and sings in his own on the refrains. It's followed by a funky country reading of Dylan's Gotta Serve Somebody with Lacy J. Dalton. Another highlight: an eerie cover version of the The Ride (a #4 country hit in 1983), in which the ghost of Hank Williams makes an appearance to offer advice. Hello In There has two sides: country and city, and again David Allan Coe mixes his own songs with covers and revivals that reflect his feelings at the time. John Prine's Hello In There, Jerry Butler's He (Will Break Your Heart) and Billy Grammer's Gotta Travel On are standouts.

Track Listing

    • Cheap Thrills
    • Son Of A Rebel Son
    • Fool Inside Of Me (& DIANE SHERRILL)
    • Castles In The Sand
    • Gotta Serve Somebody (& LACY L. DATLON)
    • The Ride
    • I Can't Let You Be A Memory
    • Missin' The Kid
    • Don't Be A Stranger (EVE SHAPIRO)
    • For Lovers Only (part 1)
    • Crazy Old Soldier
    • Out Of Your Mind
    • Mister, Don't Speak Bad About My Music
    • Drinkin' To Forget
    • Gotta Travel On
    • He Will Break Your Heart
    • For Lovers Only (part 2)
    • Hello In There
    • Someone Special
    • I Ain't Gonna Let You Go Again
    • Plus:
    • My Father Smoked His Pipe

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 79 mins

    Release Date: 01/02/07

    UPC: 4000127161277

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed