David Allan Coe - Rough Rider / David Allan Coe Plus (CD)

Save 38%
SKU: BCD16126

$ 11.69 $ 18.99


1 CD with 40-page booklet, 24 tracks, playing time 76:33 minutes

An outlaw pioneer's best work? un-reissued on CD until now.
Soulful songs and rock 'n' roll attitude - a sharp contrast to the sterility of today's country music.
Include classic hits, such as The Ride and Mona Lisa's Lost Her Smile, as well as a duet with George Jones.
Every CD has previously unissued bonus tracks.
Essential listening for everyone who loves Waylon, Willie, and the '70s outlaws.

And now we continue our ongoing exploration of the unjustly overlooked David Allan Coe catalog. A life-long renegade, Coe has been one of the most colorful and unpredictable characters in country music? or any music. An outlaw pioneer, he didn't score many big hits, although he wrote several big hits for others? including Would You Lay With Me In A Field Of Stone and Take This Job And Shove It. He was also incredibly prolific: during thirteen years with Columbia Records, he released almost two LPs a year. Here, we focus on the years 1982-1985.

'Rough Rider' and 'DAC' come from 1982 and the mostly self-composed songs chart Coe's tempestuous life during this time. As David Allan Coe himself says,'Here's another chapter in the never-ending romance of David Allan Coe's life.' Based in Florida, he was not only writing enough great songs to fill two LPs, but a book about his prison experience (and how to survive prison? if you happen to be there). Coe himself provides detailed song-by-song commentaries, mapping the words to his life.

Track Listing

    • Pouring Water On A Drowning Man
    • What Made You Change Your Mind
    • Ice Cold Love
    • Now I Lay Me Down To Cheat
    • Rough Rider
    • Take Time To Know Her
    • Time After Time
    • Forever And Never
    • Headed For The Country
    • Meanwhile Back In Memphis
    • Looking In The Mirror
    • Lyin' Comes So Easy To Your Lips
    • The Last Time She'll Leave Me This Time
    • I Gave Up (On Trying To Get Over You)
    • Voices
    • She Loved The Leavin' Out Of Me
    • I'll Never Regret Loving You
    • It's A Sad Situation
    • Those Low Down Blues
    • Whiskey, Whiskey (Take My Mind)
    • Plus:
    • Couples
    • Would You Be My Lady
    • David's Blues
    • Free Born Ramblin' Man

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 77 mins

    Release Date: 01/02/07

    UPC: 4000127161260

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed