Dizzy Reece - The Complete Recordings 1954-62 (CD)


$ 24.99


Dizzy Reece was that rare beast in the 1950s - a London-based jazz musician who gained an international reputation.

Dizzy Reece was that rare beast in the 1950s - a London-based jazz musician who gained an international reputation. The trumpet player counted Miles Davis, Sonny Rollins and Art Blakey among his many American admirers and through the tireless promulgation of A&R man Tony Hall eventually landed a record contract with the prestigious Blue Note label. In 1959, after carving a controversial reputation on the London scene, he abandoned the UK for New York City, the very heart of the modern jazz scene. Featuring the contents of no less than six original LPs, various EP releases and tracks released on multi-artist compilations, this 5-CD set tells the whole story, including every recording Reece made under his own name between 1954 and 1962, on both sides of the Atlantic, together with performances made in collaboration with the great multi-instrumentalist Victor Feldman and as a member of the New Jazz Group. The leader's distinctive playing and composing - mixing early elements of exotic world music and pure Hard Bop - are complemented by a whole phalanx of modern jazz talent including saxophonists Hank Mobley, Joe Farrell, Tubby Hayes and Ronnie Scott, fellow trumpeter Donald Byrd, pianist Wynton Kelly and the legendary drummers Art Taylor and Phil Seamen. This release also features a comprehensive booklet essay by noted jazz saxophonist and writer Simon Spillett.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Ahmed
  • O Moon
  • Butch
  • Bang
  • This Is Always
  • Now's The Time
  • Please Call
  • When'
  • Any Questions'
  • These Foolish Things
  • Umf
  • Diz The Wiz
  • Chorous
  • Basie Line
  • Yardbird Suite
  • How Deep Is The Ocean
Disc 2:
  • Out of Nowhere
  • Scrapple From The Apple
  • Bluebird [Take 1]
  • Bluebird [Take 2]
  • Wilbert's Tune
  • Stomp
  • Riviera
  • Now
  • Get Up
  • The Gypsy [Take 1]
  • The Gypsy [Take 2]
  • Momentum
Disc 3:
  • A Variation on Monk
  • Sweet and Lovely
  • Eboo
  • On The Scene
  • Blues In Trinity
  • I Had The Craziest Dream
  • Close Up
  • Shepherd's Serenade
  • Color Blind
  • Round About Midnight
  • Main Title [Nowhere To Go]
  • The Escape and Chase
  • The Search [On The Scene]
Disc 4:
  • The Sunset Scene [Nowhere To Go]
  • The Rake
  • I'll Close My Eyes
  • Groovesville
  • The Rebound
  • I Wished On The Moon
  • (I Don't Stand A) Ghost of A Chance
  • Once in A While
  • Eb Bop
  • Yesterdays
Disc 5:
  • Our Love Is Here To Stay
  • Blue Streak
  • The Shadow of Khan
  • The Story of Love
  • Yamask
  • Spiritus Parkus [Parker's Spirit]
  • Summertime
  • Ackmet

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: Jazz

Language: English

Run Time: 375 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 10/01/13

UPC: 824046750220

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed