Django Reinhardt - The Collection 1935-46 (CD)


$ 9.99


Django Reinhardt provides one of those unique strands of jazz which was hugely significant and distinctive

Django Reinhardt provides one of those unique strands of jazz which was hugely significant and distinctive, and which effectively stand on their own as an expression of one man's thoroughly individual style, influences and sound. Born in Belgium of Manouche Romany descent, he became the focus of the 'hot' jazz movement in France with his unique guitar style (he used only two fingers of his left hand, the others having been paralysed in a fire). With violinist Stephane Grappelli, he created the Quintette du Hot Club de France in Paris in the mid-30s, recording not only with that lime-up, but with other musicians and leaders, as well as solo and in dets with Grappelli. This 52-track 2-CD collection covers the core of his career, most notably the concentrated period of creative activity during the late '30s before WWII made the use of dual recordings centres in Paris and London

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Blue drag
  • Ultrafox
  • Chasing Shadows
  • I've Had My Moments
  • Djangology
  • St Louis Blues
  • Limehouse Blues
  • I Got Rhythm
  • I've Found A New Baby
  • It Was So Beautiful
  • China Boy
  • Moonglow
  • It Doesn't Mean A Thing
  • After you've gone
  • Runnin' Wild
  • Parfum
  • Crazy rhythm
  • Out of nowhere
  • Sweet sue
  • Lady be good
  • Minor Swing
  • Christmas swing
  • Honeysuckle Rose
  • Sweet Georgia Brown
  • Night & Day
Disc 2:
  • My Sweet
  • Souvenirs
  • Daphne
  • Black And White
  • Stomping At Decca
  • Nocturne
  • Billets Doux
  • Swing From Paris
  • Them There Eyes
  • Three Little Words
  • Appel Direct
  • Lambeth Walk
  • I've Got My Love To Keep Me Warm
  • Please Be Kind
  • Louise
  • Improvisation No. 2
  • Swing 39
  • Finesse
  • I'll see you in my dreams
  • Undecided
  • H.C.Q. Strut
  • Don't Worry About Me
  • The Man I Love
  • Love's Melody
  • Belleville
  • Nuages
  • Liza

Additional Details

Label: Fabulous

Genre: Jazz

Language: English

Run Time: 140 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 01/14/14

UPC: 824046203627

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed