Duke Ellington - Rare Live Recordings 1952 - 53 (CD)


$ 21.30


A highly collectable release from one of the truly legendary and iconic artists in the history of jazz and big bands

The recordings in this collection come from the Ackerman tapes, an archive held in Stanford University in California comprising 'live' jazz recordings, many previously unreleased.

The recordings come from four separate 'live' performances by the Duke Ellington Orchestra, with three from Jan.-Apr. 1952, including a concert at New York's Metropolitan Opera House, which is previously unreleased in any form, apart from one track.

The other two 1952 performances are form an unknown venue in the UA North-west, along with one from The Armory, Yakima, Washington State on the Duke's birthday 29th April. Several tracks from these 1952 performances have never been released, while the remainder have only ever been on vinyl.

The 1953 recordings are from a dance date at McElroys Ballroom in Portland Oregon, a favourite gig of Ellington's during his regular tours of the north-west around his birthday.

In all, of the 45 tracks, 20 are previously unreleased, 15 have only appeared on vinyl, while the other 10 have been on various CDs, now generally unavailable, we believe.

Some of the recordings include Ellington's characteristic and entertaining links and introductions which add a unique flavour and atmosphere to the collection.

It is a snapshot of a great orchestra under an iconic leader during a period when the big band market had been hit by post-war austerity and the emergence of bebop and R&B small groups, and one-night stands like these were its bread-and-butter work. We are sure that it will provide a welcome addition to the collections of
Duke Ellington and big band enthusiasts

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • The Hawk Talks
  • Frustration
  • Sultry Serenade
  • Sophisticated Lady
  • Perdido
  • I Got It Bad And That Ain't Good
  • A Tone Parallel To Harlem
  • Take the 'A' Train
  • Medley: VIP's Boogie, Jam With Sam
  • Monologue
  • Blues At Sundown
  • Skin Deep
  • Medley: Don't Get Around Much Anymore, Mood Indigo, I'm Beginning To See The Light, Prelude To A Kiss, It Don't Mean A Thing, Solitude, I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart, Don't Get Around Much Anymore
Disc 2:
  • Tulip or Turnip
  • Basin Street Blues
  • Primping At The Prom
  • Johnny Come Lately
  • Moonstone (W.C.)
  • Time On My hands
  • Margie
  • Chelsea Bridge
  • Midriff
  • Phalanges
  • VIP's Boogie
  • Solitude
  • Summertime
  • My Little Brown Book
  • Good Girl Blues
  • The Hawk Talks
  • Take the 'A' Train (Start upcut)
  • Happy Birthday To You
Disc 3:
  • Ting-a-ling
  • Sophisticated Lady (Ray Nance violin, Harry Carney bass clarinet)
  • C Jam Blues
  • Passion Flower
  • Happy Go Lucky Local
  • Summertime
  • Warm Valley
  • Sultry Serenade
  • Hi Ya Sue
  • Sophisticated Lady
  • Things Ain't What They used To Be
  • The Hawk Talks
  • C Jam Blues
  • Tenderly

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: Jazz

Run Time: 222 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 05/07/13

UPC: 824046903329

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed