Eleventh Hour Adventists - Eleventh Hour Adventists (LP)

Save 15%

$ 16.20 $ 18.99


Melodic dark-post-punk debut from Jowe Head (Swell Maps, Television Pesonalities) and Jasmine Pender (aka Rotten Bliss)

Eleventh Hour Adventists: a collaboration between JASMINE PENDER (aka solo artist Rotten Bliss) and highly regarded post-punk legend JOWE HEAD (ex Swell Maps, Television Personalities). They met ten years ago at a concert by German avant-garde noise band Einsturzende Neubaten, which is a clue to the depraved tastes that they share, and the way that they get their kicks.
Their collaboration is one of equal but balancing elemental forces, like hot engine oil poured into freezing water, or volcanic lava thrown high into the arctic air; a weird kind of alchemy. Their debut album together is intoxicating, brewed from their diseased imaginations into a strange synthesis of psych-folk, punk sleaze and ambient drone.
Their voices have a unique effect together, unearthly and chilling; with harmonies twisting together in strange ways. This is no ordinary cozy duet, people, no crooning turtle doves here. This is nasty stuff that your parents should have steered you away from! There are a couple of murder ballads, (both with a twist of gender reassignment to keep it all a bit more unsettling).
Their original songs are also peculiar and twisted. Jowe contributes 'Osiris and Isis', which is about indecent carnal relations between siblings, and a creepy tune called 'Satellite' which appears to be about voyeurism, surveillance and technology. There is also 'Tempelhof', about an abandoned airfield in Berlin, and 'Scapegoat', dedicated to outsiders everywhere. Jasmine offers 'Wonder Blunts the Knife', a dawn prayer full of tense revelations, and 'Memento', a nihilistic groove celebrating the advantages of being dead. The tracks were recorded mainly live, to try to capture the uncanny thrill that they generate live on stage. No easy task, like trying to bottle thunder, or freeze-dry lava.

Bonus Materials

  • Vinyl Color
  • Maroon, (1st pressing)

Track Listing

    • Handsome Billy
    • Isis and Osoris
    • Scapegoat
    • Templehof
    • Crowjane
    • Memento
    • Wonder Blunts The Knife
    • Exquisite Corpse
    • Satelittle

    Additional Details

    Label: Emotional Response Records

    Genre: Alternative/Punk

    Language: English

    Run Time: 39:03 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 06/21/19

    UPC: 600607753738

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed