Ella Fitzgerald - The Collection Vol. 2 1936-55 (CD)


$ 24.99


This is a follow-up to Acrobat's successful release on ACQCD7048 The Collection.

This is a follow-up to Acrobat's successful release on ACQCD7048 The Ella Fitzgerald Collection. That set focused exclusively on the first decade of her recording career up to 1945, while this one, although also picking up some of the excellent material from that first decade not included on the first anthology, draws mainly on the next ten years up until the end of her recording contract with Decca in the mid-'50s before she began to record for Norman Granz's Verve label. As well as recordings with the Chick Webb Orchestra and her own 'Famous Orchestra', it includes tracks done with the likes of The Inkspots, The Delta Rhythm Boys, Louis Armstrong, Illinois Jacquet, Louis Jordan and Sy Oliver's orchestra, as well fine performances with just piano accompaniment. Ella was undoubtedly one of the truly great vocal stylists of the last century, effortlessly bridging the gap between jazz, big band music and middle-ground popular music, and this collection provides an opportunity to enjoy the progression of that talent through her career.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Under The Spell Of The Blues
  • I Want To Be Happy
  • It's Wonderful
  • Stairway To The Stars
  • I Must Have That Man
  • Jim
  • This Love Of Mine
  • Somebody Nobody Loves
  • You Don't Know What Love Is
  • Make Love To Me
  • Mama Come Home
  • My Heart And I Decided
  • He's My Guy
  • Cow Cow Boogie
  • Time Alone Will Tell
  • Once Too Often
  • I'm Making Believe
  • And Her Tears Flowed Like Wine
  • I'm Confessin' -
  • I'm Begining to See The Light
  • That's The Way It Is
  • Paper Moon
  • Cry You Out Of My Heart
  • A Kiss Goodnight
Disc 2:
  • Benny's Coming Home Saturday
  • Flying Home
  • You Won't Be Satisfied
  • Frim Fram Sauce
  • I'm Just A Lucky So And So
  • I Didn't Mean A Word I Said
  • (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons
  • It's A Pity To Say Goodnight
  • Guilty
  • Sentimental Journey
  • A Sunday Kind Of Love
  • That's My Desire
  • Lady Be Good
  • Don't You Think I Ought To Know
  • You're Breaking In A New Heart
  • I Want To Learn About Love
  • That Old Feeling
  • No Sense
  • My Happiness
  • It's Too Soon To Know
  • Baby It's Cold Outside
  • Basin Street Blues
  • Can Anyone Explain
  • Dream a Little Dream Of Me
  • Looking for A Boy
Disc 3:
  • My One And Only
  • How Long Has This Been Going On'
  • I've Got A Crush On You
  • But Not For Me
  • Soon
  • Someone To Watch Over Me
  • Maybe
  • Mixed Emotions
  • Smooth Sailing
  • Oops!
  • Would You Like To Take A Walk
  • Who Walks In When I Walk Out
  • Air Mail Special
  • Rough Ridin'
  • A Guy Is A Guy
  • Angel Eyes
  • (If You Can't Sing It) You'll Have To Swing It (a.k.a. Mr.Paginini)
  • Walking By the River
  • Moanin' Low
  • Taking A Chance On Love
  • I Wished On The Moon
  • I'm Glad There Is You
  • Baby,What Else Can I Do '
  • What Is There To Say '
Disc 4:
  • Makin' Whoopee
  • Until The Real Thing Comes Along
  • People Will Say We're In Love
  • Please Be Kind
  • Imagination
  • My Heart Belongs To Daddy
  • You Leave Me Breathless
  • Nice Work If You Can Get It
  • Star Dust
  • Later
  • Lullaby Of Birdland
  • Thanks For The Memory
  • It Might As Well Be Spring
  • You'll Never Know
  • I Can't Get started
  • Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea.
  • That Old Black Magic
  • Old Devil Moon
  • Lover Come Back To Me
  • Hard Hearted Hannah
  • Pete Kelly's Blues
  • Soldier Boy
  • A Satisfied Mind
  • But Not Like Mine
  • The Impatient Years
  • My One And Only Love
  • The Tender Trap

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: Jazz

Language: English

Run Time: 300 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 01/14/14

UPC: 824046706623

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed