Etta James - Complete Singles As & Bs 1955-62 (CD)


$ 17.90


Etta James is widely regarded as one of the finest female blues, R&B and soul singers of the modern era

Etta James is widely regarded as one of the finest female blues, R&B and soul singers of the modern era, second only in some eyes to Aretha Franklin - Atlantic's Jerry Wexler called her 'the greatest of all modern blues singers'. After a chequered early life, she was discovered in Los Angeles singing with a vocal group at the age of 16 by Johnny Otis, who signed her to Modern, and she scored an R&B No. 1 in 1955 with her debut recording 'The Wallflower (Roll With Me Henry)', a re-working of Hank Ballard's 'Work With Me, Annie', following it up with another Top 10 R&B hit 'Good Rockin' Daddy'. After recording briefly for Modern subsidiary Kent, she signed to the Chess label, and began recording material that combined the intensity of R&B with the accessibility of pop and the polish of jazz, switching to the Chess sister label Argo in 1960, and hitting the pop and R&B charts with more than fifteen records between 1960 and '62, including Top 5 successes like 'All I Could Do Was Cry', 'My Dearest Darling', 'At Last', 'Trust In Me' and 'Something's Got A Hold On Me', before aspects of her life began to unravel in subsequent years. This great-value 52-track 2-CD set comprises all her A & B sides during those first important years of her career, plus a bonus album version of 'Dance With Me Henry', so it's a comprehensive overview of her early work.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • The Wallflower (Roll With Me Henry)
  • Hold Me Squeeze Me
  • Hey Henry 
  • Be Mine
  • Good Rockin Daddy 
  • Crazy Feeling
  • W-O-M-A-N 
  • That's All
  • Number One 
  • I'm A Fool
  • Tears Of Joy 
  • Shortin' Bread Rock
  • Tough Lover 
  • Fools We Mortals Be
  • Good Lookin'
  • Then I'll Care 
  • Market Place
  • The Pick-Up
  • By The Light Of The Silvery Moon
  • Come What May
  • Sunshine Of Love
  • Baby, Baby Every Night
  • I Hope You're Satisfied
  • If It Ain't One Thing
  • How Big A Fool
  • If I Can't Have You
Disc 2:
  • My Heart Cries
  • Spoonful
  • It's A Crying Shame
  • All I Could Do Was Cry
  • Boy Of My Dreams
  • My Dearest Darling
  • Tough Mary
  • At Last
  • I Just Want To Make Love To You
  • Trust In Me
  • Anything To Say You're Mine
  • Fool That I Am
  • Dream
  • Don't Cry, Baby
  • Sunday Kind Of Love
  • It's Too Soon To Know
  • Seven Day Fool
  • Something's Got A Hold On Me
  • Waiting For Charlie To Come Home
  • Stop The Wedding
  • Street Of Tears
  • Next Door To The Blues
  • Fools Rush In
  • How Do You Speak To An Angel
  • Would It Make Any Difference To You
  • Dance With Me Henry

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: Blues

Language: English

Run Time: 140 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 08/04/17

UPC: 824046320423

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed