Frankie Laine - I Believe (CD)

Save 38%
SKU: BCD16367

$ 138.46 $ 224.99


6-CD box (LP-size) with 104-page book, 163 tracks. Playing time approx. 438 mns.

Between his first recordings in 1944 and the conclusion of his contract with Mercury Records in 1952 (chronicled on Volume 1 of this series, 'That Lucky Old Sun,' BCD 16361 GK). Frankie Laine had become one of the most popular singers in the United States, with hit singles including That's My Desire, Mule Train, The Cry Of The Wild Goose and That Lucky Old Sun. Laine followed his producer, Mitch Miller, to Columbia Records, where he remained for thirteen years, during the course of which his international fan base grew exponentially. Frankie Laine's repertoire, which had previously consisted largely of standards and jazz tunes, expanded under Mitch Miller's direction, bringing in a stronger pop music element; in many cases more expansive musical backing; and duets with several of the label's established and up-and-coming stars.

This, the second in a planned series of three boxed sets, covers those Columbia label recordings from 1951 - 1955, including top-10 hits Jezebel, Rose, Rose I Love You, Hey, Good Lookin', Jealousy, Hambone, High Noon, I Believe, and Hey, Joe, and complete albums including 'One For My Baby,' 'Mr. Rhythm,' 'Lovers' Laine' and 'Command Performance. ' Here are all of Frankie Laine's duets with Jimmy Boyd, Doris Day, Jo Stafford and the Four Lads. The 'Jazz Spectacular' sessions with an all-star band including Buck Clayton, Budd Johnson, Sir Charles Thompson, Hilton Jefferson, J. J. Johnson and Kai Winding are here, along with soundtrack recordings from the films 'Sunny Side Of The Street,' 'Rainbow 'Round My Shoulder' and 'Bring Your Smile Along,' plus the complement of previously unissued master and alternate takes that listeners expect from Bear Family. The lavishly-illustrated hard-cover accompanying book includes an extensive discography, and new interviews with first-hand participants including Stafford; the Four Lads' Bernie Toorish; Frankie Laine's long-time accompanist, Al Lerner; and Frankie Laine, himself.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Jezebel
  • Flamenco
  • Love Is Such A Cheat
  • Rose, Rose I Love You
  • The Girl In The Wood
  • Wonderful, Wasn't It'
  • Pretty Eyed (& JO STAFFORD)
  • That's The One For Me (& JO STAFFORD)
  • In The Cool, Cool Cool Of The Evening
  • That's Good! That's Bad! (& JO STAFFORD)
  • Gambella (The Gamblin' Lady) (& JO STAFFORD)
  • Song Of The Islands
  • Hey, Good Lookin' (& JO STAFFORD)
  • When It's Sleepy Time Down South
  • She Reminds Me Of You
  • One For My Baby
  • Necessary Evil
  • To Be Worthy Of You
  • Jealousy (Jalousie)
  • Tomorrow Mountain
  • Snow In Lover's Lane
  • That's How It Goes
  • When You're In Love
  • The Gandy Dancer's Ball
  • Ramblin' Man
  • How Lovely Cooks The Meat (& DORIS DAY)
  • Sugarbush (& DORIS DAY)
Disc 2:
  • Hambone (& JO STAFFORD)
  • Let's Have A Party (& JO STAFFORD)
  • There's A Rainbow 'round My Shoulder
  • She's Funny That Way
  • The Rock Of Gibraltar
  • High Noon (Do Not Forsake Me)
  • The Mermaid
  • Tonight You Belong To Me
  • My Ohio Home
  • Settin' The Woods On Fire (& JO STAFFORD)
  • Piece A-Puddin' (& JO STAFFORD)
  • Christmas Roses (& JO STAFFORD)
  • I'd Give My Life
  • The Ruby And The Pearl
  • Chow, Willy (& JO STAFFORD)
  • I'm Just A Poor Bachelor
  • The Swan Song
  • The Little Boy And The Old Man (& JIMMY BOYD)
  • Your Cheatin' Heart
  • I Believe
  • Tell Me A Story (& JIMMY BOYD)
  • Some Day
  • Lorelei
  • Granada
  • Where The Winds Blow
  • I Let Her Go
  • Te Amo
  • A Bushel And A Peck (& JO STAFFORD)
  • Let's Fishin' (& JIMMY BOYD)
  • Poor Little Piggy Bank (& JIMMY BOYD)
Disc 3:
  • Do You Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans
  • Floatin' Down To Cotton Town
  • New Orleans
  • Way Down Yander In New Orleans
  • Basin Street Blues (& JO STAFFORD)
  • Some Day, Sweetheart
  • Laughing At Life
  • Lullaby In Rhythm
  • After You've Gone (& CARL FISCHER)
  • Sittin' In The Sun (Countin' My Money)
  • Willow Weep For Me
  • A Hundred Years From Today
  • Judy
  • Answer Me, O Lord
  • Hey Joe!
  • Goin' Like Wildfire (& JO STAFFORD)
  • Rollin' Down The Line (& JO STAFFORD)
  • Blowing Wild (The Ballad Of Black Gold)
  • The Kid's Last Fight
  • Ace In The Hole
  • The Lord Don't Treat His Chillum That Way
  • Answer Me, My Love
  • Drill Ye Tarriers
  • Long Distance Love
  • Old Shoes
  • There Must Be A Reason
  • Juba, Juba, Jubalee (& THE FOUR LADS)
  • What Would I Do' (& THE FOUR LADS)
Disc 4:
  • God's Gonna Take The Saints To Heaven
  • Ain't It A Pity And A Shame (& THE FOUR LADS)
  • Let Me Be Ready, Lord (& THE FOUR LADS)
  • Wa, Hoo! (& THE FOUR LADS)
  • I Feel Like My Time Ain't Long (& FOUR LADS)
  • Rain, Rain, Rain (& THE FOUR LADS)
  • My Friend
  • Your Heart, My Heart (Sehnsucht)
  • In The Beginning
  • High Society (& JO STAFFORD)
  • Back Where I Belong (& JO STAFFORD)
  • I Can't Give You Anything But Love, Baby
  • Keepin' Out Of Mischief Now
  • Out Of Nowhere
  • You Are Too Beautiful
  • Mona Lisa
  • Bubbles
  • Make Me A Child Again
  • Your Love
  • The Tarrier Song
  • Cool Water
  • Walking The Night Away
  • Strange Lady In Town
  • Bring Your Smile Along
  • If Spring Never Comes
  • Never Come Sunday
  • Mama Mia
  • My Little One
Disc 5:
  • Ticky Ticky Tick (I'm Gonna Tell On You)
  • The Thief
  • Hummingbird
  • Hawk-Eye
  • A Woman In Love
  • You Can Depend On Me
  • S'posin'
  • Stars Fell On Alabama
  • That Old Feeling
  • Baby, Baby All The Time
  • Roses Of Picardy
  • If You Were Mine
  • Until The Real Thing Comes Along
  • Taking A Chance On Love
  • Where Can I Go (& THE FOUR LADS)
  • Didn't He Moan (& THE FOUR LADS)
  • Remember Me (& THE FOUR LADS)
  • I Heard The Angels Singing (& THE FOUR LADS)
  • Robin Hood
  • Moby Dick
  • Champion The Wonder Horse
  • Sixteen Tons
Disc 6:
  • Sunny Side Of The Street:
  • Sunny Side Of The Street (title vers.)
  • I'm Gonna Live Till I Die
  • I May Be Wrong (& TONI ARDEN)
  • Sunny Side Of The Street (& TONY FONTAINE)
  • Rainbow Round My Shoulder:
  • Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams
  • Girl In The Wood
  • Wonderful Wasn't It (& CHARLOTTE AUSTIN)
  • Rainbow Round My Shoulder (& C. AUSTIN)
  • Bring Your Smile Along:
  • Bring Your Smile Along (title vers.)
  • When A Girl Is Beautiful
  • Bring Your Smile Along (& Bob M. CHOIR)
  • Mama Mia (& C. TOWERS & K. BRASSELLE)
  • Side By Side (& KEEFE BRASSELlE)
  • Gandy Dancer's Ball He Laughed Last:
  • Save Your Sorrows For Tomorrow
  • Danny Boy (& chorus)
  • Danny Boy (solo)
  • Meet Me In Las Vegas:
  • Hell Hath No Fury
  • Blowing Wild:
  • Man Without A Star:
  • Man Without A Star
  • Strange Lady In Town:
  • Gunfight At The O.K. Corral:
  • Gunfight At The O.K. Corral
  • 3:10 To Yuma:
  • 3:10 To Yuma
  • Bullwhip:
  • Bullwhip
  • Rawhide:
  • Rawhide

Additional Details

Label: Bear Family Records

Genre: Pop/Rock

Run Time: 438 mins

Release Date: 01/02/07

UPC: 4000127163677

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed