Guy Mitchell - Complete US & UK Hits 1950-62 (CD)


$ 16.99


Guy Mitchell was one of the few artists whose career spanned traditional '50s pop and the rock 'n' roll explosion

Guy Mitchell was one of the few artists whose career spanned both the traditional middle-of-the-road pop era of the early '50s and the rock 'n' roll explosion which dominated the latter half of the decade. He was equally popular on both sides of the Atlantic, enjoying a string of hits during the early '50s in the USA before the UK gave him a run of success when things went quiet in the US, followed by his dramatic return to the top of the charts with the landmark international success of 'Singing The Blues', and other significant follow-up successes, including his final No. 1 in 1959 with 'Heartaches By The Number'. This 2-CD set traces his complete chart career, featuring all his hits in the UK and USA, from his early successes with productions by Columbia's legendary A&R man Mitch Miller, performing novelty songs from the highly distinctive pen of Bob Merrill, through the rock 'n' roll era, where he successfully covered country hits by Marty Robbins until the British invasion saw the end of his pop hits. It is an entertaining and varied retrospective of the chart career of a versatile and talented interpreter of the pop zeitgeist.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • You're Just In Love
  • Marrying For Love
  • My Heart Cries for You 
  • The Roving Kind 
  • Sparrow in the Treetop 
  • Christopher Columbus 
  • Unless 
  • My Truly, Truly Fair 
  • Belle, Belle, My Liberty Belle 
  • Sweetheart of Yesterday 
  • There's Always Room at Our House 
  • I Can't Help It (If I'm Still in Love with You) 
  • Wimmin'
  • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 
  • A Little Kiss Goodnight
  • Gently Johnny
  • The Day of Jubilo 
  • You'll Never Be Mine
  • Feet Up (Pat Him on the Po-Po) 
  • ('Cause I Love You) That's A-Why
  • She Wears Red Feathers 
  • Pretty Little Black-Eyed Susie 
Disc 2:
  • Tell Us Where The Good Times Are
  • Look at That Girl 
  • Chicka Boom 
  • Cloud Lucky Seven 
  • Sippin' Soda 
  • Cuff of My Shirt 
  • Dime and a Dollar 
  • Ninety Nine Years (Dead or Alive) 
  • Singing the Blues 
  • Crazy with Love 
  • Knee Deep in the Blues 
  • Take Me Back Baby 
  • Rock-a-Billy 
  • Sweet Stuff 
  • In the Middle of a Dark Dark Night
  • Call Rosie on the Phone 
  • Heartaches by the Number 
  • The Same Old Me 
  • My Shoes Keep Walking Back to You 
  • Your Goodnight Kiss (Ain't What It Used to Be) 
  • Charlie's Shoes 
  • Go Tiger, Go! 

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: Pop/Rock

Language: English

Run Time: 140 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 08/14/15

UPC: 824046313425

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed