High Noon - Flatland Saturday Night (CD)

SKU: BCD17383

$ 14.24 $ 18.99


1-CD Digipak (6-plated) with 40-page booklet, 32 tracks. Total playing time approx. 78 minutes.

32 track compilation of the Rockabilly Trio
Purist vision with modern energy
Extensive liner notes by Bill Smoker
Includes complete discographyBeautifully re-mastered for CD release
Best sound quality for this material ever presented
The music that ignited the contemporary rockabilly scene

In the blistering Austin, Texas summer heat of 1988, High Noon took American roots music by storm with its masterful presentation of real, string band rockabilly. Impassioned vocals, acoustic rhythm guitar, electric lead guitar, and upright slap bass. To hell with the drums, this was rock and roll played the way Elvis, Scotty and Bill had unleashed it on the world in 1954.

Over the next decade, High Noon, the Rockabilly Trio - Shaun Young, Kevin Smith and Sean Mencher - put plenty of sweat into their ''back to the beginning'' sound. The band seized every opportunity to perform, honing their craft from Austin's clubs and honky tonks to farmer's markets. The band proved the power of great songs played by guys with an encyclopedic knowledge of rock and roll, hillbilly, and rhythm & blues. Suddenly, rockabilly was new again.

Flatland Saturday Night is cherry-picked from High Noon's three Goofin' Records long players. Listen to the title track, Rock Too Slow, I'm Not Blue and Stranger Things and you'll instantly understand High Noon's important contribution to the all-time rockabilly canon. And if you don't find yourself dancing and singing along, you need to see a doctor.

Every track included on the collection is played with intensity and attitude. The High Noon boys proved who they were on their first foray into the studio, knocking out their 11 song debut LP (select cuts presented here) in four hours. Later, on the road through Tennessee, the trio tracked down Scotty Moore for an in-person discussion of how the Sun Studio sounds were developed...Read more at: https://www.bear-family.de/

Track Listing

    • Please Don't Go Away (Japanese)
    • Glorybound
    • Stranger Things
    • She Forgot Her Memory
    • When She's Good
    • Let's Go Daddy-O
    • Long Empty Stretch Of Highway
    • My Ex Is Why
    • Beautiful
    • Rock Too Slow
    • Rockin' Wildcat
    • Rockin' Beauty
    • Old Habits
    • Flatland Saturday Night
    • Bluebonnet Boogie
    • Not For Nothin'
    • Rattlesnake Man
    • Mixed Signal Mama
    • Fishing Hole Boogie
    • I'm Not Blue
    • Gotta Lotta That
    • Doggone That Cat
    • Now You're Gonna Be Loved
    • Comanche Moon
    • Kiss And Tell Baby
    • Slow Down Baby
    • It's The Beat
    • High On A Hill
    • Hanging From The Old Oak Tree
    • My Little Thrill
    • Call Of The Honky-Tonk
    • Quick Hand (demo)
    • My Heart Cries Yes (demo)

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 78 mins

    Release Date: 08/28/15

    UPC: 5397102173837

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed