In The Blink Of An Eye (CD)

Save 15%

$ 11.10 $ 12.99


Disco Gecko artists remix each other's work for this celebration of the label's 20th anniversary.

In 1998 Toby Marks formed Disco Gecko Recordings as an outlet for his music as Banco de Gaia as he couldn't find another label that he was happy to work with. His earlier experiences working with both independent and major labels had left him less than convinced that he would find anyone who actually understood, or cared about, what he was trying to do, so he thought he had better just do it himself.

Initially he meant to add other artists to the label but it wasn't until 2014 that he finally found the time to do so, releasing Andrew Heath's gorgeous album The Silent Cartographer.

Since then he has released albums and EPs by a bunch of other artists, always looking for music with heart, integrity and beauty. Unlike many peoples' preconceptions about Banco, this isn't a dance music label, although there is some of that. Rather, it's an outlet for anything from ambient instrumentals to midtempo floor stompers via experimental electronics and traditional (and not-so-traditional) instruments.

To mark 20 years of the label Toby decided to do something a bit more interesting than just a 'best of' compilation. As there are now nine artists releasing music on the label, plus various 'associates' (such as Andy Guthrie who was with him at the birth of Banco and still remixes and contributes the odd track when he can), he decided to ask them to each remix each other. The pairings were picked randomly but the results are anything but. With tracks covering the full range of what Disco Gecko has to offer, this compilation showcases the talents of writers, producers and performers of the highest quality. Every track is a unique journey into the minds and personalities of two different artists, often working in very different styles, and the results are definitely more than a sum of the parts.

20 years has gone by in the blink of an eye. Hopefully this album signposts the way ahead for the next 20 (and beyond).

Track Listing

    • Andrew Heath - A Stillness of Place (Radium88 remix)
    • Sophie Barker - Road 66 (LO18 remix)
    • Simon Power - How Proud We Are (Banco de Gaia remix)
    • Radium88 - Heavy Water, Falling Stone (Simon Power remix)
    • Banco de Gaia - Glove Puppet (Sophie Barker and FastLap remix)
    • dr trippy - Darjeeling Daydream (Dragonfly Trio remix)
    • 100th Monkey - The Inuit Snow Song (Andrew Heath remix)
    • Dragonfly Trio - Up (Animat Remix)
    • Animat - Translucent Transparent (dr trippy remix)
    • LO18 - Huima (100th Monkey remix)
    • Radium88 - Bury Each and Every Prayer (Simon Power remix)

    Additional Details

    Label: Disco Gecko Recordings

    Genre: Ambient/Experimental

    Language: English

    Run Time: 66:11 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 06/08/18

    UPC: 5038719007923

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed