Inaki Etxepare - Integral Per Violonceli Gasp (CD)

Save 15%

$ 13.60 $ 15.99
Only 5 units left


Gaspar Cassadó was born in Barcelona on 30 of september of 1897. He was the son of the composer and organist Joaquín Cassadó, who was also the Chapel Master of the church of La Merced in Barcelona. His first violoncello teacher was Dionisio March and after, again with his brother Augustín, he won a scholarship to continue his studies in Paris with Pau Casals. He became known as soloist sharing the bill with the pianist Arthur Rubinstein. In 1914 he debuted at the Palau de la Música Catalana. After several international tours, in 1923 he decided to settle in Italy and share his European tours with the pianist Giulietta Gordigiani, wife of baron Robert von Mendelssohn. From this moment, Gaspar

Cassado played regularly in Europe, standing out as one of the best violoncellist of his time. Parallel to his activity as soloist, he released his works for cello, which is one of the most interesting and extensive catalogs in the twentieth century written for this instrument in which are include works for cello and orchestra, several works for cello and piano cello and numerous transcripts that contributed to expand the repertory. He was one of the most prestigious teachers of the Academy of Chigiana in Siena and in the Music courses in Compostela. He also made tours with the pianist Alicia de Larrocha. At the end of his life Gaspar Cassadó formed a duo with his wife a japanese pianist Chieko Hara.

His discography catalog includes several recording of live concerts forming a trio with Menuhin, Kentner. He had a close relationship with some of the composers of his time, especially with Luigi Dallapicola, who dedicated some of his works. He died of a heart attack during a tour on 24 December 1966.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Sonata - Rapsodia
  • Sonata - Aragonesa
  • Sonata - Saeta
  • Sonata - Pasodoble
  • Morgenlied
  • Rapsodia Del Sur
  • Achares
  • Danse Du Diable Vert
  • Requiebros
Disc 2:
  • Sonata Nello Antico Stile Spagnuolo - Introduzione E Allegro
  • Sonata Nello Antico Stile Spagnuolo - Grave
  • Sonata Nello Antico Stile Spagnuolo - Danza Con Variazioni
  • Serenade
  • Lamento De Boabdil
  • La Pendule, La Fileuse Et Le Galant
  • Partita Fur Cello Und Klavier - Alla Tedesca
  • Partita Fur Cello Und Klavier - Inno
  • Partita Fur Cello Und Klavier - Forte e Piano
  • Partita Fur Cello Und Klavier - La Caccia

Additional Details

Label: Ayva Musica

Genre: Classical

Run Time: 86 mins

Release Date: 04/06/10

UPC: 8427328883894

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed