Jerry Lee Lewis - Southern Swagger (CD)

SKU: BCD16865

$ 16.20 $ 18.99


1-CD-Album with 28-page booklet, 32 tracks. Playing time approx. 73 mns

A unique collection of Jerry Lee Lewis' most confident/sexually aggressive performances. Because sexual energy fuelled Jerry Lee Lewis' best music, 'Southern Swagger' is a very powerful collection that stands with his 'Best Of' compilation. The collection covers his entire Sun period through his early 1970s recordings and includes rare alternate takes and mixes.

Southern Swagger Nobody had more of it than Jerry Lee Lewis. He was the menace every parent had in mind when the cry went out, 'Lock up your daughters!' A wild man on the loose. 'If the good Lord made anything better than a woman,' Jerry Lee famously observed, 'He kept it for himself. ' Jerry Lee Lewis had no illusions about himself. Through a long and varied life, he has remained true to his inner demons. And we have those demons to thank for some of the rawest, most honest and inspired music in the history of rock 'n' roll.

The tracks on this album are drawn from Jerry Lee Lewis' earliest years on the Sun label in Memphis, with a few added examples from the next decade at Mercury Records. Jerry Lee Lewis was barely past his teenage years when he began recording the music we present here. Each track, in its own way, reflects something about Jerry Lee Lewis' view of the universe and his place in it. As philosophies go, this one is pretty simple: Raising hell and chasing women are what it's all about.

As this disc reveals, Jerry Lee Lewis' swagger was not something he developed as his career and reputation grew. It was there from the very earliest days. Even on his later country-based sides for Mercury, Jerry Lee Lewis is still irrepressible. Whether he's playing the role of pathetic loser, beaten-down lover or dumb schmuck who's about to get left behind, Jerry Lee Lewis still manages to sound like he's come out on top. That, of course, is part of his enduring appeal.
Read more at:

Track Listing

    • Mean Woman Blues
    • Drinkin' Wine Spo Dee O Dee
    • Whole Lotta Shakin' Going On
    • Big Legged Woman
    • Lewis Boogie
    • chatter
    • Great Balls Of Fire (movie version)
    • Keep Your Hands Off Of It/Birthday Cake
    • Ubangi Stomp
    • End Of The Road
    • Dixie
    • Deep Elem Blues
    • It'll Be Me
    • Introduction & Cool, Cool Ways (Sexy Ways)
    • Honey Hush
    • All Night Long
    • You Can't Help It
    • Good Rockin' Tonight
    • Lovin' Up A Storm
    • Rockin' With Red
    • I've Been Twistin'
    • Down The Line
    • Sixty Minute Man
    • Ooby Dooby
    • Wild One (Real Wild Child)
    • Carrying On (Sexy Ways)
    • Baby, Hold Me Close
    • Break My Mind
    • Since I Met You Baby
    • Time Changes Everything
    • Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone
    • Meat Man

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 73 mins

    Release Date: 01/02/07

    UPC: 4000127168658

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed