Jim Hurst - Second Son (CD)

Save 15%
SKU: PCR1119

$ 11.90 $ 13.99
Only 3 units left


An all-star cast supports one of acoustic music's greatest acoustic guitar players, TWO TIME ''IBMA Guitar Player of the Year' Jim Hurst!

An all-star cast supports one of acoustic music's greatest acoustic guitar players, TWO TIME ''IBMA Guitar Player of the Year' Jim Hurst!

Second Sonwas the first album released by Jim Hurst on Pinecastle Records in 2001. The star-studded project featured collaborations with fellow Bluegrass acts like Russell Moore, Alison Brown, Missy Raines, John Cowan, Jesse Brock, Casey Driessen, Randy Kohrs, Ned Lubercki, Shawn Lane, Ron Stewart, Wayne Benson, Stuart Duncan, Rob Ickes, Charlie Cushman, Ray Deaton, Scott Vestal, Tim Stafford and Kristin Scott Benson (track listing below). In total, Second Son contains 12 recordings, which have aged well, even two decades later.

Steeped in bluegrass and country music, Jim Hurst embraces these genres but goes beyond their musical boundaries to create music both complex and sublime.

Jim Hurst's dexterous guitar work and pleasing vocals can lead you down a path of a lovely ballad, get your feet stomping to a train song and ultimately leave you spellbound....in just one medley!
Second Son Track Listing:

1. Steven's Deep Coal Mines (featuring Wayne Benson, Stuart Duncan & Rob Ickes)

2. Big Iron (featuring Ned Luberecki, Jesse Brock, Casey Driessen & Randy Kohrs)

3. Our Old Home (featuring Missy Raines, Shawn Lane & Ron Stewart)

4. Lonesome Road Blues (featuring Missy Raines, Alison Brown, Wayne Benson & Stuart Duncan)

5. Wings of an Eagle (featuring Kristin Scott Benson & Shawn Lane)

6. Stafford's Stomp (featuring Missy Raines, Scott Vestal, Wayne Benson, Stuart Duncan, Rob Ickes & Tim Stafford)

7. Widow's Weeds (featuring Missy Raines, Alison Brown, Shawn Lane & Ron Stewart)

8. Sin's Dark Valley (featuring Ray Deaton & Russell Moore)

9. The Long Road (featuring Charlie Cushman & Rob Ickes)

10. Three Days Deep Forever Wide (featuring John Cowan, Scott Vestal, Wayne Benson, Casey Driessen & Randy Kohrs)

11. Seven Year Blues

12. Danny Boy

Additional Details

Label: Pinecastle Records

Genre: Bluegrass

Release Date: 04/23/01

UPC: 755757111928

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed