Joachim Kühn - Touch the Light (LP)

Save 15%
SKU: ACTLP9766-1

$ 21.30 $ 24.99


'Joachim Kühn finds the living heart of each song and wrings out every drop of emotional heft. Insanely gorgeous.' New York City Jazz Record

180 gram Black Virgin Vinyl with a free Download Code included!

When producer Siggi Loch first floated the idea that Joachim Kühn might like to make an album of ballads, the pianist's response was jocular and rebellious, as is typical of him: 'Maybe when I'm ninety...' That initial resistance wasn't to last long, and Kühn, now in his midseventies, soon started to settle down at the Steinway in his home, switch on his DAT recorder, and set to work. 'The advantage of being here at home in Ibiza is that I can simply make a recording when I want to. When the feeling comes, I just record,' Kühn reflects. Over a period of about fifteen months he sent a total of some forty individual tracks to Loch. He would often take pieces, re-think them, and end up sending off several different versions. So what emerges on 'Touch the Light' is a distillation from those individual takes. It flows extremely well as a coherent and delightful programme. Some of the pieces here have deep personal resonance. 'A Remark You Made' by Joe Zawinul takes Kühn straight back to a pivotal moment in his life: Zawinul was a juror at the 1966 Gulda competition in Vienna, the event which facilitated the 22-year-old pianist's escape from East Germany. Gato Barbieri's theme from 'Last Tango in Paris' recalls the fact that Barbieri enlisted Kühn in 1972 to play on the soundtrack. And the Allegretto from Beethoven's 7th Symphony not only brings to the fore a composer whose music has always made the deepest of impressions on Kühn. Above all, however, it is in the simplicity, the spaciousness and the sheer delight in melody of his own compositions that Kühn both touches the heart and gives us the greatest surprises on this album. And the title track 'Touch the Light' captures the beauty of the sunset over the sea that Kühn often contemplates from his terrace. Kühn's remark about that tune is also true of the album as a whole: 'There's a lot of love here. And joy.'

Track Listing

    • Warm Canto
    • Allegretto
    • A Remark You Made
    • Sintra
    • Ponta de Areia
    • Redemption Song
    • Touch the Light
    • Fever
    • Blue Velvet
    • Stardust
    • Purple Rain
    • Last Tango in Paris
    • Peace Piece

    Additional Details

    Label: Act

    Genre: Jazz

    Run Time: 47 mins

    Release Date: 04/14/21

    UPC: 614427976611

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed