Johnnie Ray - The Singles Collection As & Bs 1951-61 (CD)


$ 27.20


Johnnie Ray successfully bridged the gap between traditional early '50s pop and the rock 'n' roll era

Johnnie Ray was one of the few singers who successfully bridged the creative and commercial gap between traditional early '50s pop and the rock 'n' roll era, which he achieved with a string of memorable hits, and was also notable for the fact that he was every bit as popular and successful in Europe and Australia as he was in his native US. He came to performing as a white R&B singer, and developed an emotionally-charged delivery and dynamic stage presence that brought him a string of hits, scoring his first No. 1 in 1952 with 'Cry', and as a result his performing histrionics he acquired outlandish nicknames like 'The Prince Of Wails' and 'The Nabob Of Sob'. Between 1952 and 1960 he had around forty hits, including UK No. 1s with 'Such A Night', 'Just Walkin' In The Rain' and 'Yes, Tonight Josephine'. It was remarkable, that although his initial hits were in the traditional pop era of the mid-'50s, he had a huge teen following in the early rock 'n' roll years breaking box office records when he toured. This great-value 109-track 4-CD is a comprehensive anthology comprising just about every A & B side which he released in the USA and UK during this era, which encompassed all of his chart entries on both sides of the Atlantic

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Whiskey And Gin
  • Tell The Lady I Said Goodbye
  • Little White Cloud That Cried
  • Cry
  • (Here Am I) Broken Hearted
  • Please Mr. Sun
  • Mountains In The Moonlight
  • What's The Use
  • Don't Blame Me
  • Coffee And Cigarettes
  • Out In The Cold Again
  • Walkin' My Baby Back Home
  • Don't Take Your Love From Me
  • Lady Drinks Champagne
  • All Of Me
  • Give Me Time
  • A Sinner Am I
  • Gee But I'm Lonesome
  • Don't Say Love Has Ended
  • Faith Can Move Mountains
  • Love Me (Baby Can't You Love Me)
  • A Full Time Job
  • Ma Says, Pa Says
  • I'm Gonna' Walk And Talk With My Lord
  • Touch Of God's Hand
  • Mister Midnight
Disc 2:
  • Oh What A Sad Sad Day
  • Glad Rag Doll
  • Somebody Stole My Gal
  • Candy Lips
  • Let's Walk That-A-Way
  • With These Hands
  • Satisfied
  • It’s the Talk Of The Town
  • All I Do Is Dream Of You
  • Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone
  • An Orchid For The Lady
  • You'd Be Surprised
  • Why Should I Be Sorry
  • Destiny
  • Such A Night
  • Hey There
  • Hernando's Hideaway
  • To Ev'ry Girl - To Ev'ry Boy
  • Going Going Gone
  • I'm Just A Shadow Of Myself
  • She Didn't Say Nothin' At All
  • The Only Girl I'll Ever Love
  • Papa Loves Mambo
  • If You Believe
  • Alexander's Ragtime Band
  • As Time Goes By
Disc 3:
  • Nobody's Sweetheart
  • Parade Of Broken Hearts
  • Paths Of Paradise
  • Flip Flop And Fly
  • Thine Eyes Are As The Eyes Of A Dove
  • My Love For You
  • Taking A Chance On Love
  • Song Of The Dreamer
  • I've Got So Many Million Years
  • Johnnie's Comin' Home
  • Love, Love, Love
  • A Heart Comes In Handy
  • The Others I Like
  • Who's Sorry Now
  • Walk Along With Kings
  • Ain't Misbehavin'
  • Goodbye Au Revoir Adios
  • Because I Love You
  • Just Walking In The Rain
  • In The Candlelight
  • Look Homeward, Angel
  • You Don't Owe Me A Thing
  • So Long
  • I Miss You So
  • Yes Tonight, Josephine
  • No Wedding Today
  • Build Your Love
  • Street Of Memories
Disc 4:
  • Good Evening Friends
  • Up Above My Head
  • Pink Sweater Angel
  • Texas Tambourine
  • Soliloquy Of A Fool
  • Miss Me Just A Little
  • Strollin' Girl
  • Plant A Little Seed
  • Endlessly
  • Lonely For A Letter
  • No Regrets
  • Up Until Now
  • What More Can I Say
  • You're The One Who Knows
  • When's Your Birthday Baby
  • One's Man Love Song Is Another Man's Blues
  • Here And Now
  • Call Me Yours
  • I'll Never Fall In Love Again
  • You're All That I Live For
  • When It's Springtime In The Rockies
  • An Ordinary Couple
  • Wagon Wheels
  • I'll Make You Mine
  • Before You
  • Don't Leave Me Now
  • Tell Me
  • Cool Water

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: Pop/Rock

Language: English

Run Time: 288 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 09/08/17

UPC: 824046711528

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed