Lavern Baker - Complete Singles As & Bs 1949-62 (CD)


$ 21.30


LaVern Baker was a one of the top female R&B singers of the '50s and early '60s,

LaVern Baker was a one of the top female R&B singers of the '50s and early '60s, racking up a string of R&B and pop hits during her time with the Atlantic label - indeed she was every bit as much a pop and rock 'n' roll artists as a pure R&B singer. This great value 71-track 3-CD collection comprises every A and B side she released from her recording debut in 1949 through to her last Top 50 entry in 1962. It includes her first recordings with Eddie 'Sugarman' Penigar's Orchestra, her early '50s releases as Little Miss Sharecropper, and then with Maurice King & His Wolverines as Bea Baker, and with Todd Rhodes Orchestra billed for the first time as LaVern Baker, before joining Atlantic in 1953, and then includes all her releases for Ahmet and Nesuhi Ertegun through the next decade. It naturally includes her big hits with 'Tweedle-Dee' 'Bop-Ting-A-Ling', 'Play It Fair', 'Jim Dandy', 'Jim Dandy Got Married', 'I Cried A Tear' and many others - a total of 26 chart records during that period. She was a fine R&B stylist, with a broad enough appeal for many of her records to cross over to the pop charts and make an impact in the burgeoning arena of rock 'n' roll, appearing in Alan Freed's 'Rock, Rock, Rock' and 'Mr. Rock & Roll' movies. This collection is an entertaining and thorough overview of her core career.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • I Wonder Baby
  • Easy Baby
  • I've Tried
  • How Long
  • I Want To Rock
  • Take Out Some Time
  • Good Daddy
  • I Want A Lavender Cadillac
  • Make It Good
  • Trying
  • Pig Latin Blues
  • Must I Cry Again
  • Lost Child
  • Set My Soul On Fire
  • How Can You Leave A Man Like This'
  • I Can't Hold Out Any Longer
  • I'm Living My Life For You
  • Tweedlee Dee
  • Tomorrow Night
  • Bop-Ting-A-Ling
  • That's All I Need
  • Play It Fair
  • Lucky Old Sun
  • My Happiness Forever
Disc 2:
  • Get Up Get Up (You Sleepyhead)
  • Fee Fee Fi Fo Fum
  • I'll Still Do The Same (For You)
  • Still
  • I Can't Love You Enough
  • Jim Dandy
  • Tra-La-La
  • Jim Dandy Got Married
  • The Game Of Love
  • Humpty Dumpty Heart
  • Love Me Right
  • Miracles
  • St. Louis Blues
  • Learning To Love
  • Substitute
  • Harbor Lights
  • Whipper Snapper
  • It's So Fine
  • Why, Baby, Why'
  • I Cried A Tear
  • Dix-A-Billy
  • I Waited Too Long
  • You're Teasing Me
  • So High, So Low
Disc 3:
  • If You Love Me
  • Tiny Tim
  • For Love of You
  • Shake A Hand
  • Manana
  • Wheel(s) of Fortune
  • Shadows Of Love
  • A Help-Each-Other Romance
  • How Often
  • Bumble Bee
  • My Time Will Come
  • You're The Boss
  • I'll Never Be Free
  • Saved
  • Don Juan
  • I Didn't Know I Was Crying
  • Hurtin' Inside
  • Hey, Memphis
  • Voodoo Voodoo
  • No Love So True
  • See See Rider
  • The Story Of My Love

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: R & B

Language: English

Run Time: 210 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 06/09/15

UPC: 824046904821

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed