London Piano: Eddie Thompson And Dave Lee (CD)


$ 16.99


Exporting British jazz to the United States during the late 1950s often had the air of sending coals to Newcastle.

Exporting British jazz to the United States during the late 1950s and early 1960s often had the air of sending coals to Newcastle. However, when the American Vox and Top Rank labels commissioned special projects aimed solely for the US market, the efforts of two of London's best known jazz pianists were given a rare boost of recognition. Headed by the blind virtuoso Eddie Thompson, the 10' Vox LP 'London After Dark' centred the action on themes dedicated to the capital - ranging from Billy Strayhorn's 'Chelsea Bridge' to such unlikely fare as 'Underneath The Arches' - demonstrating Thompson's uncanny knack for making good jazz out of all manner of material, while the second, John Dankworth associate Dave Lee's 'A Big New Band From Britain', showcased not only the Englishman's inventive piano playing, but also the writing skill of top US arranger Manny Albam. American listeners clearly loved Lee's smooth blend of dance music and jazz as, in an unprecedented coup, the album spent six weeks in the coveted Cash Box Top Ten. As well as featuring the instrumental skills of the two leaders both these albums boast rare cameo appearances by the ultimate British jazz legend, Tubby Hayes, playing tenor saxophone and vibes. The new Acrobat release marks the first complete appearance of either album on CD and includes fascinating booklet notes by noted saxophonist and writer Simon Spillett.

Track Listing

    • Eddie Thompson - Passport to Pimlico
    • Eddie Thompson - Nelson's Column
    • Eddie Thompson - A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square
    • Eddie Thompson - London Pride
    • Eddie Thompson - Underneath The Arches
    • Eddie Thompson - There's a Lovely Lake In London
    • Eddie Thompson - A Foggy Day
    • Eddie Thompson - Chelsea Bridge
    • Eddie Thompson - Limehouse Blues
    • Dave Lee - Lover, Come Back To Me
    • Dave Lee - Bye, Bye Blackbird
    • Dave Lee - Georgia On My Mind
    • Dave Lee - Chloe
    • Dave Lee - Piece of Cake
    • Dave Lee - You, You, You
    • Dave Lee - London Derriere
    • Dave Lee - Blue Denham
    • Dave Lee - I Cover The Waterfront
    • Dave Lee - Cheek To Cheek
    • Dave Lee - Beyond The Sea (La Mer)

    Additional Details

    Label: Acrobat

    Genre: Jazz

    Language: English

    Run Time: 75 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 10/07/14

    UPC: 824046437824

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed