Louis Armstrong - Collection Vol. 1: The First Decade 1923-32 (CD)


$ 9.99


Louis Armstrong was without question one of the most important artists in the development of jazz

Louis Armstrong was without question one of the most important artists in the development of jazz - his technical skill, his powerful presence and his improvisational genius was such that his peers rapidly recognised him as a model, and his work helped shape the way the language of jazz evolved over the years. From quite early in his career, from the late '30s onwards, he became an entertainer who transcended the genres, appearing in many films, and acquiring a role and relevance outside pure jazz, although his influence continued to pervade the way the music was performed, especially during the New Orleans revival of the '50s and '60s. This collection, however, focuses on that first key decade, when he helped shift the emphasis from collective improvisation to virtuoso solo performance simply through the power and quality of his contribution to the ensembles he played with and led. It includes some of his first recordings as part of the hugely important King Oliver Creole Jazz Band along with selected recordings with the Fletcher Henderson Orchestra and Clarence Williams' Blue Five, before drawing most particularly on his landmark recordings with his Hot Five and Hot Seven, which are such an important element of the entire jazz canon. The final section of the collection comprises recordings with his orchestra during the early '30s as he developed his technique further and established his role as a singer and entertainer as much as virtuoso trumpeter and cornettist. It's a great value 48-track 2-CD set at budget price, which provides an insight into a vital formative decade of jazz.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Just Gone
  • Chimes Blues
  • Froggie Moore
  • Buddy's Habit
  • Chattanooga Stomp
  • Working Man Blues
  • Go 'Long Mule
  • Tell Me Dreamy Eyes
  • Texas Moaner Blues
  • Copenhagen
  • Cake Walkin' Babies From Home
  • St Louis Blues
  • Cold In Hand Blues
  • I Miss My Swiss
  • Livin' High Sometimes
  • Coal Cart Blues
  • You Can't Shush Katie
  • Heebie Jeebies
  • Cornet Chop Suey
  • Muskrat Ramble
  • Don't Forget To Mess Around
  • Lonesome Blues
  • Skid-Dat-De-Dat
  • Willie The Weeper
Disc 2:
  • Wild Man Blues
  • Potato Head Blues
  • Melancholy Blues
  • 12th Street Rag
  • Struttin' With Some Barbecue
  • Hotter Than That
  • Savoy Blues
  • West End Blues
  • Basin Street Blues
  • Weather Bird
  • Muggles
  • St. James Infirmary
  • Tight Like This
  • Knockin' A Jug
  • Mahogany Hall Stomp
  • Ain't Misbehavin'
  • (What Did I Do To Be So) Black And Blue
  • Tiger Rag
  • Blue Yodel No. 9 (Standin' On The Corner)
  • I'm A Ding Dong Daddy From Dumas
  • Body And Soul
  • Sweethearts On Parade
  • Star Dust
  • All of Me

Additional Details

Label: Fabulous

Genre: Jazz

Language: English

Run Time: 150 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 03/10/15

UPC: 824046204921

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed