Louis Prima & Sam Butera - The Velvet Lounge-jump, Jive An' Wail (CD)

Save 38%
SKU: BCD17203

$ 11.69 $ 18.99


1-CD-Album DigiPac (4-plated) with 36-page booklet, 30 tracksPlaying time approx. 87 minutes.

David Lee Roth copied the Louis Prima arrangement of Just A Gigolo/I Ain't Got Nobody while Brian Setzer won a Grammy for his version of Jump, Jive An' Wail. The amazing originals are here. Also contains Louis Prima's big hits with the succulent Keely Smith: That Old Black Magic and I've Got You Under My Skin are the epitome of Las Vegas cool. Plus a clutch of lethal tenor-man Sam Butera's rock 'n' roll vocals including Ten Little Women and the full kilter Bim Bam. All told, there's no better collection of Louis Prima's seriously frantic fusion of rock 'n' roll, Dixieland and Neopolitan mayhem. Fans will also appreciate the generous number of tracks and the booklet's numerous photos.

Louis Prima can't be pigeon-holed. Jump blues, vaudeville, Dixieland jazz, Sicilian boogie, swing and flat-out rock 'n' roll; they were all reflected in the riotous lounge act which he pioneered if not invented. Despite his age (born 1910) and a recording career which spanned four decades, Prima understood rock 'n' roll. 'It's got that beat' he said. 'There's nothing, but nothing, wrong with rock 'n' roll'.

This collection doesn't overlook his jazz-inflected pop hits with Keely Smith but it relies primarily on his very best recordings for Capitol, those which capture the exalted frenzy of his live show and the rumbustious spirit of '50s rock 'n' roll. It includes his own full-steam ahead classic, Jump, Jive An' Wail, several innovative medleys and a clutch of attractive rockers by his accompanists, tenor sax player Sam Butera and his band, the Witnesses. Spurned by critics at the time, this anthology of ground-breaking, house-rocking music restores Louis Prima to his rightful, well-deserved place in the reissue spotlight.

Track Listing

    • Jump, Jive, An' Wail
    • Just A Gigolo / I Ain't Got Nobody
    • Oh Marie
    • Bim Bam
    • I'll Be Glad When You're Dead You Rascal You
    • Buona Sera
    • I've Got The World On A String
    • Ten Little Women
    • Pennies From Heaven
    • That Old Black Magic
    • Them There Eyes/Honeysuckle Rose
    • Twinkle In Your Eye
    • Gotta See Baby Tonight
    • Basin Street Blues/When It's Sleepy Time Down
    • Night Train
    • Equator
    • Whistle Stop
    • Five Months, Two Weeks, Two Days
    • I've Got You Under My Skin
    • Sam Butera: Handle With Care
    • Banana Split For My Baby
    • When You're Smiling/The Sheik Of Araby
    • There'll Be No Next Time
    • Dig That Crazy Chick
    • Hey Boy, Hey Girl
    • Everybody Knows
    • Be Mine (Little Baby)
    • Up Jumped A Rabbit
    • Three Handed Woman
    • Angelina/Zooma Zooma (Medley)

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 87 mins

    Release Date: 05/30/11

    UPC: 4000127172037

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed