Louvin Brothers - Collection 1949-62 (CD)


$ 16.99


Ira and Charlie Louvin were a powerful and distinctive force in country music through the '50s until 1963

Ira and Charlie Louvin (they were cousins of country singer/songwriter John D. Loudermilk) were a powerful and distinctive force in country music through the '50s until their break-up in 1963, their music firmly rooted in their Southern Baptist upbringing, although they achieved huge success as long-time Grand Ole Opry members and with secular hits like 'Cash On The Barrelhead', 'When I Stop Dreaming', 'Running Wild' and the No. 1 'I Don't Believe You've Met My Baby'. With Ira's trademark mandolin and their extraordinary blend of voices, they were among the genre's most individual stylists, and influenced many later artists, such as The Everly Brothers, whose vocal harmonies very much echo those of the Louvin Brothers, and others including Gram Parsons and The Byrds - The Byrds recorded the Louvins' 'The Christian Life'. This collection captures the flavour and progression of their music from their recording debut through to their break-up in 1963, occasioned by Ira's heavy drinking and violently unpredictable behaviour, which belied his deep religious convictions. It comprises their most successful singles, with a dozen country hits, plus material drawn from their other A & B sides and from their themed concept albums for Capitol.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Alabama
  • They've Got The Church Out Numbered
  • The Weapon Of Prayer
  • You'll Be Rewarded Over There
  • The Get Acquainted Waltz
  • Insured Beyond The Grave
  • Do You Live What You Preach
  • The Sons And Daughters Of God
  • The Family Who Prays
  • Born Again
  • Preach The Gospel
  • God Bless Her ('Cause She's My Mother)
  • Satan Lied To Me
  • Satan And The Saint
  • Swing Low Sweet Chariot
  • Make Him A Soldier
  • When I Stop Dreaming
  • Pitfall
  • Just Rehearsing
  • I Don't Believe You've Met My Baby
  • Hoping That You're Hoping
  • Childish Love
  • Cash On The Barrelhead
  • You're Running Wild
  • Kentucky
  • In The Pines
  • My Brother's Will
  • Don't Laugh
Disc 2:
  • Plenty Of Everything But You
  • I Wish You Knew
  • Call Me
  • This Little Light Of Mine
  • She Didn't Even Know I Was Gone
  • My Baby's Gone
  • He Can Be Found
  • The River Of Jordan
  • If I Could Only Win Your Love
  • Memories and Tears
  • Knoxville Girl
  • While You're Cheating On Me
  • You're Learning
  • Curly Headed Baby
  • Nellie Moved To Town
  • Kneeling Drunkard's Plea
  • The Christian Life
  • If You Love Me Stay Away
  • Love Is A Lonely Street
  • I Love You Best Of All
  • I Can't Keep You In Love With Me
  • How's The World Treating You
  • The Great Atomic Power
  • The Weapon Of Prayer (1961 version)
  • Broken Engagement
  • Must You Throw Dirt In My Face
  • Searching For A Soldier's Grave
  • Robe Of White

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: Country

Language: English

Run Time: 149 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 02/12/16

UPC: 824046315023

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed