Madam Edna Gallmon Cooke - Collection 1949-62 (CD)


$ 16.99


This release recognises one of the fine female singers of the era

Acrobat's catalogue features a wealth of fascinating and collectable gospel repertoire from the genre's heyday in the '40s and '50s, and this release recognises one of the fine female singers of the era who has not enjoyed as high a profile as her work merits. She turned to gospel from classical and musical theatre in the late '30s and became consecrated in the Holiness Church, acquiring the honorific title of 'Madame'. She developed her highly distinctive note-bending style as she performed around the south-eastern states and started recording in the late '40s for the Merit, DeLuxe, Regal and Republic labels before joining the Nashville-based Nashboro label in 1953, recording for them until her death at the age of 49 in 1967. This great-value 49-track 2-CD collection includes material from all of those labels, including early tracks with the Mount Vernon Men's Choir, with sides from many of her singles, along with tracks which only appeared on her 'He'll Fix It' and 'Stop Gambler' albums from 1960 and '61. Many of her recordings are very hard to find, and this includes a number which have not been readily available on CD.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Angels, Angels, Angels
  • He'll Fix It
  • I Promised The Lord
  • Glory To His Name
  • God Be With You
  • Loved Ones Are Waiting
  • The Old Landmark
  • Walk Through The Valley
  • Amen
  • Build Me A Cabin
  • I've Got Religion
  • Come By Here
  • Evening Sun
  • Somebody Touched Me
  • Child Of The King
  • Nobody But You Lord
  • Somebody Help Me
  • Hide Me
  • Said I Wouldn't Tell It
  • My Journey Home
  • A Dedication
  • You Ought've Been There
  • I Can't See Them Now
  • Road Of No Return
  • Come Home
  • Heavy Load
Disc 2:
  • If You Don't Go
  • In My Heavenly Home
  • It Could Be Jesus
  • War Fare
  • Meet Me At The River
  • Wave That Train
  • Inching
  • I've Been Redeemed
  • The Lord Still Answers Prayer
  • Walking On The Right Road
  • The Hammer Rings
  • Stop Gambler
  • Life's Lonesome Road
  • Jesus Will Never Say No
  • Don't You Wanta Go
  • Without You Lord
  • Leakin' In This Building
  • Lord When I Get Home
  • Let Jesus Lead You
  • Nobody Knows The Trouble I've Had
  • Let's Praise God
  • Mother's Looking For Me
  • The Lost Sheep

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: Gospel

Language: English

Run Time: 140 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 11/13/15

UPC: 824046313326

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed