Marian Anderson - Let Freedom Ring 1939 & 1961 (CD)

Save 15%

$ 15.30 $ 17.99


A Major Step in Music - and Racial Equality.

First restored release of the historic April 9, 1939 concert at the Lincoln Memorial and first release of a 1961 live concert in Copenhagen.

Born in 1897, Anderson's parents were cultured and supportive of their children. After her father's death, the family moved to Philadelphia. Anderson was 12. Unable to attend High School (her family was too poor), she pursued her musical ambitions through the church. Supported by the local community - her talent was obvious - she secured informal instruction after being rejected by the Philadelphia Music Academy.

In 1925 she won First Prize in a competition organized by the New York Philharmonic. Her career evolved from there - especially in Europe where she was popular. By 1939 Marian Anderson was feted worldwide, but a concert planned for Washington's Constitution Hall was blocked for one reason: she was black. With Eleanor Roosevelt's support the concert took place instead on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial. It was a triumph - now, perhaps, too little recalled. This release would be merited simply because it is music-making of the highest order, but this is more - it's an important piece of American history.

The Copenhagen Concertis a further triumph. Held in especially high regard in Scandinavia (Sibelius adapted some of his works for her), Anderson basks in the audience's affection.

Track Listing

    • Opening announcement
    • Speech by U.S. Secretary of the Interior Harold Ickes
    • Traditional: America (My Country, 'Tis of Thee)
    • La Favorita: Fia dunque vero ... O mio Fernando ... Scritto in cielo
    • Ave Maria (Ellens dritter Gesang), D. 839 (Op. 52, No. 6)
    • Intermission announcements
    • Spiritual: Gospel Train
    • Spiritual: Trampin'
    • Closing Announcement
    • Immer leiser wird mein Schlummer, Op. 105, No. 2
    • Von ewiger Liebe, Op. 43, No. 1
    • Die Forelle, D. 550 (Op. 32)
    • Ave Maria (Ellens dritter Gesang), D. 839 (Op. 52, No. 6)
    • Der Erlkönig, D. 328 (Op. 1 )
    • Samson et Dalila: Mon coeur s'ouvre à ta voix
    • Comin' Through the Rye
    • Von zwei Rosen, Op. 59, No. 3
    • Es war zur holden Lenzeszeit
    • Läksin minä kesäyönä käymään
    • Belsazars gästabud, Op. 51: Den judiska flickans sÃ¥ng (or Solitude)
    • Svarta rosor, Op. 36, No. 1
    • Spiritual: Done Foun' My Los' Sheep
    • Spiritual: Hold On!
    • Spiritual: He's Got the Whole World in His Hands
    • Spiritual: He's Got the Whole World in His Hands (reprise)
    • Spiritual: My Soul's Been Anchored in de Lord
    • Spiritual: Heav'n, Heav'n
    • Spiritual: O What a Beautiful City!

    Additional Details

    Label: JSP Records

    Genre: Classical

    Release Date: 11/04/16

    UPC: 788065680329

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed