Merrill Moore - Collection 1952-58 (CD)

Save 26%

$ 12.50 $ 16.99


Merrill Moore was a western swing and boogie-woogie pianist and bandleader

Merrill Moore was a western swing and boogie-woogie pianist and bandleader whose style was a considerable influence on the development of rockabilly and rock 'n' roll during the 1950s, most notably as a precursor of artists like Jerry Lee Lewis. With his band The Saddle Rhythm Boys, he made his name as a club entertainer on the west coast, leading to a contract with Capitol in 1952, scoring a major US hit in 1953 with 'The House Of Blue Lights'. He recorded a string of fine singles through the mid-50s, his style presaging the changing musical landscape of the times, as the rock 'n' roll explosion took hold, before becoming a session musician and radio entertainer, performing regularly with Tennessee Ernie Ford. In the late '60s, his music was brought to the fore by enthusiasts in the UK, and two albums were released on the Ember label, followed by a UK tour in 1969, as a result of which he recorded a new album there. This collection comprises just about all his recordings for Capitol during the 1950s, and it makes for a highly entertaining peek into a particular niche of pop during one of the key eras of its development.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Corrine Corinna
  • Big Bug Boogie
  • Bartender's Blues
  • Red Light
  • The House Of Blue Lights
  • Bell Bottom Boogie
  • Sweet Jennie Lee
  • Snatchin' And Grabbin'
  • Nola Boogie
  • Fly Right Boogie
  • Doggie House Boogie
  • Ten Ten A.M
  • Rock-Rockola 
  • Cow Cow Boogie
  • Yes, Indeed
  • One Way Door 
  • Hard Top Race 
  • Five Foot Two, Eyes Of Blue (Has Anybody Seen My Girl') 
  • Down The Road A Piece 
  • Cooing To The Wrong Pigeon
  • King Porter Stomp 
  • Rock Island Line 
  • Gotta Gimme What'cha Got 
Disc 2:
  • She's Gone 
  • Barrel House Bessie 
  • Tuck Me To Sleep In My Old 'Tucky Home 
  • Nursery Rhyme Blues
  • Buttermilk Baby 
  • Saddle Boogie
  • I Think I Love You Too
  • Boogie My Blues Away
  • Yes Indeed
  • Music Music Music
  • Sun Valley Walk
  • Back Home In Indiana
  • South
  • Sentimental Journey
  • Shanty In Old Shanty Town
  • Sweet Georgia Brown
  • Moore Blues
  • Nobody's Sweetheart
  • Jumpin' At The Woodside
  • Somebody Stole My Gal
  • Lazy River

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: Pop/Rock

Language: English

Run Time: 143 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 08/28/15

UPC: 824046313623

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed