Mimi Roman - Juke Box Pearls: I'm Ready If You Are (CD)

SKU: BCD17274

$ 14.24 $ 18.99


1-CD-Album Digipak (4-plated) with 25-page booklet, 25 tracks, playing time approx. 62 mns

She was a Jewish girl from New York who attended the same school as Barbara Streisand and Neil Diamond, but wanted to be a country singer. Her first record was a rare Hank Williams song that he wrote for Ray Price. Mimi Rothman performed on big country radio jamborees, changing her name to Mimi Roman, and telling people that she was from California. Some of her songs have appeared in compilations from Bear Family and on other labels. This is the first full-length CD devoted to her music.

Owen Bradley, head of Decca-Records in Nashville for years, would joke that he was charged with 'a country singer who wanted to go pop, and a pop singer who wanted to sing country. ' The country singer was Patsy Cline. The pop singer was Mimi Roman. Changing her name from Rothman, she recorded for Decca in New York and Nashville, but never got the all-important break. Mimi Roman even worked the grueling Philip Morris caravan, touring with legends like Carl Smith and Ronnie Self, and recorded right on the stage of the Ryman Auditorium, home of the Grand Ole Opry. Somehow, it didn't work out for her, although her records have become highly collectible. For the first time, here is her story and here are her finest records in one place. A little untold gem of Fifties musical history. Mixed bag of high quality Honky Tonkers, Patsy Cline style strollers, teenage smoothies ala' Connie Francis plus obscure and completely unknown pop-pearls like 'Dance With Me (Cha Cha Cha)' Great Discovery!

Track Listing

    • I'm Ready If You're Willing
    • Honky Tonk Girl
    • Twenty-One
    • I Am The Heart (Of A Teenage Girl)
    • Through (How Can You Say We're Through)
    • Mama Says
    • Little Lovin'
    • Cheater's Luck
    • Love Bells
    • Mr. Opportunity (& Billy Gray)
    • I'll Leave The Door Open
    • Tonight I Made You Mine
    • Oh I Like It
    • We're Taking Chances (& Billy Gray)
    • The Wind Up
    • I'll Always Wonder
    • Darling (Come Back To Me)
    • Another Woman's Man
    • Wrap It Up And Save It
    • Have A Heart
    • Jamaica Jitney
    • Weary Blues From Waitin'
    • Dance With Me
    • The Lady And The Arab
    • My Tears Are Beginning To Show

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Country

    Run Time: 62 mins

    Release Date: 07/13/12

    UPC: 4000127172747

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed