Moonglows - Complete Singles As & Bs 1953-62 (CD)


$ 16.99


The Moonglows were one of the most important and influential doowop vocal groups of the 1950s

Despite their relatively short career together and an equally limited recording output, The Moonglows were one of the most important and influential doowop vocal groups of the 1950s, their career spanning the years of the rock 'n' roll explosion in pop as well as the time when mainstream pop artists and labels were plundering the R&B charts for potential crossover hit songs. Led by the legendary Harvey Fuqua, who went on to marry Berry Gordy's sister and became a hugely successful writer and producer at Motown, and featuring his long-time colleague Bobby Lester sharing lead vocals, they recorded initially for Alan Freed's Challenge label, before he got them a deal with Chance, and moved to Chess, with whom they scored their biggest success with R&B No. 1 'Sincerely', which was covered by The McGuire Sisters to score a pop No. 1. This great-value 56-track 2-CD set comprises the A and B sides of every single they released before they parted company, their music encompassing rocking up-tempo bluesy R&B as well as smooth, immaculate ballads, with beautifully textured harmonies. It naturally features all their chart entries, including the R&B Top 10 hits 'Most Of All', 'Sincerely', 'We Go Together', 'See Saw', 'Please Send Me Someone To Love' and 'The Ten Commandments of Love'. It's a comprehensive trawl across a brief but significant career.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • I Just Can't Tell No Lie
  • I've Been Your Dog
  • Baby Please
  • Whistle My Love
  • Just A Lonely Christmas
  • Hey, Santa Claus
  • Secret Love
  • Real Gone Mama
  • I Was Wrong
  • Ooh Rockin' Daddy
  • My Gal
  • 219 Train
  • Sincerely
  • Tempting
  • Shoo-Doo-Be-Doo (My Loving Baby)
  • So All Alone
  • The Hug And A Kiss
  • New Gal
  • She's Gone
  • Most Of All
  • Foolish Me
  • Slow Down
  • Starlite
  • In Love
  • In My Diary
  • Lover Love Me
  • We Go Together
Disc 2:
  • Chickie Um Bah
  • See Saw
  • When I'm With You
  • Over And Over Again
  • I Knew From The Start
  • I'm Afraid The Masquerade Is Over
  • Don't Say Goodbye
  • Please Send Me Someone To Love
  • Mister Engineer (Bring Her Back To Me)
  • The Beating Of My Heart
  • Confess It To Your Heart
  • Too Late
  • Here I Am
  • In The Middle Of The Night
  • Soda Pop
  • This Love
  • Sweeter Than Words
  • Ten Commandments Of Love
  • Mean Old Blues
  • Love Is A River
  • I'll Never Stop Wanting You
  • Twelve Months Of The Year
  • Don't Be Afraid Of Love
  • Mama Loocie
  • Unemployment
  • Beatnik
  • Junior
  • Blue Velvet
  • Penny Arcade

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: Blues

Language: English

Run Time: 140 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 02/10/17

UPC: 824046318826

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed