New Orleans Dance Bands (CD)

Save 15%

$ 10.20 $ 11.99


The 25 cuts on this CD document the emerging New Orleans dance movement as recorded between 1923 and 1929. Traditional New Orleans music, despite its artistic pretensions, was primarily performed and recorded for dancing, as reflected by this compilation. Full biographical and discographical information plus extensive sleevenotes explain the history of the music. Tracks include The Halfway (House) Dance Orchestra ('Snookum'), Oscar Celestin's Original Tuxedo Jazz Orchestra ('It's Jam Up'), Jones And Collins Astoria Hot Eight ('Astoria Strut'), 'Buddy Christian's Creole Five ('Sugar House Stomp') and Pirons New Orleans Orchestra ('New Orleans Wiggle').

Track Listing

    • Piron's New Orleans Orchestra - West Indies Blues
    • Piron's New Orleans Orchestra - New Orleans Wiggle
    • Johnny De Droit & His New Orleans Jazz Orchestra - When My Sugar Walks Down The Street (All The Little Birdies Go 'Tweet, Tweet, Tweet')
    • Parenti's Liberty Syncopaters - I Need Some Lovin'
    • The Halfway House (Dance) Orhcestra - Maple Leaf Rag
    • The Halfway House (Dance) Orhcestra - Squeeze Me
    • Buddy Christian's Creole Five - Sugar House Stomp
    • The Halfway House (Dance) Orhcestra - I'm In Love
    • The Halfway House (Dance) Orhcestra - Snookum
    • Elgar's Creole Orchestra - Nightmare
    • Louis Dumaine's Jazzola Eight - To-Wa-Bae-A-Wa
    • Louis Dumaine's Jazzola Eight - Pretty Audrey
    • John Hyman's Bayou Stompers - Ain't Love Grand' (Don't Get Funky)
    • Oscar Celestin's Original Tuxedo Jazz Orchestra - As You Like It
    • Oscar Celestin's Original Tuxedo Jazz Orchestra - Dear Almanzoer
    • New Orleans Owls - That's A-Plenty
    • The Halfway House (Dance) Orhcestra - When I'm Blue
    • Oscar Celestin's Original Tuxedo Jazz Orchestra - It's Jam Up
    • New Orleans Owls - Throwin' The Horns
    • New Orleans Owls - Goose Pimples
    • The Halfway House (Dance) Orhcestra - Love Dreams
    • The Halfway House (Dance) Orhcestra - Wylie Avenue Blues
    • Oscar Celestin's Original Tuxedo Jazz Orchestra - Ta Ta Daddy
    • Jones & Collins Astria Hot Eight - Astoria Strut
    • Jones & Collins Astria Hot Eight - Damp Weather Blues

    Additional Details

    Label: Acrobat

    Genre: Jazz

    Release Date: 11/08/11

    UPC: 824046518424

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed