Peggy Lee - The Centenary Singles Collection 1945-62 (CD)


$ 27.20


May 26th 2020 marks the centenary of the birth of the great jazz and pop singer Peggy Lee

May 26th 2020 marks the centenary of the birth of the great jazz and pop singer Peggy Lee, and Acrobat is celebrating the occasion with two special releases, this singles collection and an anthology of selected titles from twenty-five of the albums 'The Centenary Albums Collection 1948-62' (ACQCD7147). Peggy Lee was one of the finest interpreters of popular songs, whether performing in the big band idiom, in small group jazz environments or with solo piano accompaniment, or in the sophisticated pop style which brought her many chart hits. Her repertoire ranged effortlessly from Great American Songbook classics to the latest pop songs, and included many of her own fine compositions. This great-value101-track 4-CD set comprises selected A and B sides from her single releases on the Capitol and Decca labels from the early years of her solo career through to 1962 (her recordings with the Benny Goodman Orchestra can be found on the Acrobat release 'Peggy Lee With The Benny Goodman Orchestra 1941-47' (ADDCD3216). It features more than 40 US & UK chart hits, including the No. 1 'Manana' and the Top 10 classics 'Fever', 'Mr. Wonderful', 'Golden Earrings', 'Waitin' for the Train to Come In', 'Riders In The Sky', 'I Don't Know Enough About You', 'It's All Over Now' and 'Chi-Baba Chi-Baba'. It's a substantial and hugely entertaining tribute to one of the most illustrious singers of her era and a marvellous showcase for her unique style and versatility.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • What More Can A Woman Do'
  • Waitin' For The Train To Come In
  • I'm Glad I Waited For You
  • I Don't Know Enough About You
  • Linger In My Arms A Little Longer, Baby
  • It's All Over Now
  • Aren't You Kinda Glad We Did'
  • It's A Good Day
  • A Nightingale Can Sing The Blues
  • Everything's Movin' Too Fast
  • Speaking Of Angels
  • Chi-Baba, Chi-Baba
  • Just An Old Love Of Mine
  • Why Don't You Do Right'
  • Them There Eyes
  • Stormy Weather
  • Don't Smoke In Bed
  • Golden Earrings
  • I'll Dance At Your Wedding
  • Manana
  • All Dressed Up With A Broken Heart
  • Laroo Laroo Lili Bolero
  • Talking To Myself About You
  • Baby, Don’t Be Mad At Me
Disc 2:
  • Caramba! It’s The Samba
  • Bubble-Loo Bubble-Loo
  • Just A Shade On The Blue Side
  • So Dear To My Heart
  • Hold Me
  • Someone Like You
  • Blum Blum (I Wonder Who I Am)
  • Similau
  • While We're Young
  • Bali Hai
  • (Ghost) Riders In The Sky
  • At The Cafe Rendezvous
  • Through A Long And Sleepless Night
  • A Man Wrote A Song
  • The Old Master Painter
  • My Small Señor
  • Save Your Sorrow For Tomorrow
  • Goodbye John
  • Crazy, He Calls Me
  • Once Around The Moon
  • Show Me The Way To Get Out Of This World
  • Lover, Come Back To Me
  • Life Is So Peculiar
  • Where Are You'
  • The Mill On The Floss
Disc 3:
  • Rock Me To Sleep
  • He's Only Wonderful
  • Boulevard Cafe
  • (When I Dance With You) I Get Ideas
  • My Magic Heart
  • Don't Fan The Flame
  • I Love You But I Don't Like You
  • Would You Dance With A Stranger'
  • Goin' On A Hayride
  • Be Anything (But Be Mine)
  • Lover
  • Watermelon Weather
  • Just One Of Those Things
  • River River
  • Merry Go Runaround
  • Moonflowers
  • I Hear The Music Now
  • Who's Gonna Pay The Check
  • I've Got You Under My Skin
  • The Night Holds No Fear
  • Baubles, Bangles And Beads
  • Where Can I Go Without You
  • Johnny Guitar
  • That's What A Woman Is For
  • Love, You Didn't Do Right By Me
Disc 4:
  • Straight Ahead
  • Let Me Go Lover
  • He's A Tramp
  • I Belong To You
  • Bella Notte
  • Ooh, That Kiss
  • He Needs Me
  • Sugar
  • Mr. Wonderful
  • You've Got To See Mama Every Night
  • Joey, Joey, Joey
  • We Laughed At Love
  • Listen To The Rockin' Bird
  • Fever
  • Light Of Love
  • Sweetheart
  • Alright, Okay, You Win
  • My Man
  • Hallelujah, I Love Him So
  • You Deserve
  • My Gentle Young Johnny
  • Bucket Of Tears
  • Til There Was You
  • The Folks Who Live On The Hill
  • Hey Look Me Over
  • The Sweetest Sounds
  • I'm A Woman

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: Adult Contemporary/MOR

Language: English

Run Time: 280 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 11/20/20

UPC: 824046714628

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed