Pitch Black - Rarities & Remixes (CD)

Save 15%

$ 11.90 $ 13.99


A stunning selection of ambient, dub and world infused electronica.

Remixes + Rarities is a package of rare tracks and lovingly crafted remixes of other artists' music, chosen by Paddy Free and Mike Hodgson to represent their 15 years as one of NZ's favourite electronica acts. Known globally for their stomping live sets, Remixes + Rarities showcases Pitch Black's mellower side.

Beginning with a dancefloor friendly, but respectful,reworking of the Richard Nunns and Hirini Melbourne original, 'Te Po' and ending with an equally haunting version of Tiki's 'Past Present Future', the album represents the past, present and future of the Pitch Black partnership. Included in the remixes are tracks by fellow NZ dub trailblazers International Observer and Salmonella Dub, who appear alongside independent music producer Tom Cosm and reggae legends Katchafire.

Also fed through the PB warping machine are tracks from further afield: 'Mirror Beach' by Mirror System and 'A New Day', a remix of a Sri Lankan track that Pitch Black did for the Laya Project. Included on the album are three Pitch Black rarities, one of which is 1996's 'I'm a Wanderer', the first track the pair worked on together, which showcases the industrial beginnings of what would become the Pitch Black sound: a dynamic balancing act between heavily sculpted basslines and choppy melody.

Also included is 'Kaikoura Dub', the track used on the film Whalerider after Mike - having been asked by Niki Caro for some music - gave her a 23 minute mix of a jam recorded in Kaikoura. 'She ended up choosing a sliver for the film. We subsequently used the bones of this track for the tune 'Elements Turn' on Ape to Angel' The last rarity is 'Protect the Grain' a windborne ambient track that was previously released on the limited edition EP Flex around the time of widespread anti GE demonstrations in NZ and worldwide.

Pitch Black have always been more than a dance act, but on Remixes + Rarities they demonstrate the full reach of the musical territory they love to explore.

Track Listing

    • Te Po (Pitch Black Remix)
    • Kaikoura Dub
    • House Of The Rising Dub (Pitch Black Remix)
    • For The Love Of It (Pitch Black Version)
    • The Opaque (Pitch Black Remix)
    • Sensimillia (Pitch Black's Sensi Dub)
    • I'm A Wanderer
    • Mirror Beach (Pitch Black's Iron Sands Rerub)
    • Protect The Grain
    • Sleep Whisperer (Pitch Black Remix)

    Additional Details

    Label: Dubmission Records

    Genre: Electronic/DJ/Scratch

    Release Date: 06/14/11

    UPC: 9421025880582

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed