Mikkel Ploug & Sissel Vera Pettersen & Joachim Badenhorst - Equilibrium (CD)

Save 15%
SKU: SGLSA1578-2

$ 10.20 $ 11.99


First release by young European trio combines elements of jazz, classical, folk, improv and electronic voicescapes.

A Danish guitarist, Norwegian vocalist/saxophonist, and Belgian reed player have pooled their talents, combining elements of jazz and classical chamber music/new music, Nordic folk music, western and non-western vocal traditions, free improvisation, and looped electronic voicescapes. Equilibrium balances the sensuous and the stark, melodic grace and textural interplay, counterpoint and freewheeling invention. At times it is quite eerie and primal; at other times it induces a more ethereal kind of enchantment.

Says guitarist-composer Mikkel Ploug: 'It's really a democratic pile-up of all of our ideas, tastes and perceptions of the moment that creates the output. We like to leave a lot of space for open improvisation. Taking a lot of risks and feeling exposed is desired....We are all fortunate to work with great musicians from a generation or two ahead of us (Mark Turner, Han Bennink, Marc Ducret etc.). The force of this trio is that all three of us melt into a sound really quite different from the respective bands we perform with.'

Adds vocalist Sissel Vera Pettersen: 'I'm influenced by joik, pygmy songs, cattle calls, South Indian music, Inuit throat singing, Chinese opera, West African griots, Balinese kecak, birds....The traditional music of different people and cultures inspires me a lot - music that has evolved through history from a deep human need to belong, and to express feelings. These different styles are reflected in my vocal improvs, without me necessarily trying to imitate them.'

For reed player Joachim Badenhorst, 'Someone like Arve Henriksen has been a big inspiration. He found a way to make the trumpet sound more like a flute or a shakuhachi....[Here] I try to see if I can find my way to a sound on my instruments that is close to the human voice.'

24 bit recording mixed to stereo + 5.0. The band's subsequent Songlines releases are under the group name Equilibrium.

Track Listing

    • Chorale I
    • November
    • Cathedral
    • Fri
    • Soft Spoken
    • Epiphora
    • Chorale II
    • Chords
    • Aeroide
    • Takt
    • Chorale III
    • Warmth
    • Ambiente
    • Chorale IV

    Additional Details

    Label: Songlines

    Genre: Jazz

    Run Time: 56 mins

    Release Date: 04/14/09

    UPC: 774355157824

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed