The Residents - Strange Culture/Rivers Of Hades/Haeckel's Tale (CD)

Save 15%
SKU: GG215

$ 25.50 $ 29.99


Music from 2007 by avantgarde cult group The Residents

Strange Culture (OST): In 2007, Director/artist Lynn Hershman-Leeson heard of a strange situation of an artist being arrested as a bioterrorist due to the fact that his 'art' used harmless mold. She gathered a number of friends to make a film to bring more attention to the artist's plight. Among the friends were Tilda Swinton and The Residents who had worked with Ms Hershman on her previous film, Conceiving Ada. The Rivers of Hades: An aural art piece, Chaos Is Not Just A Theory, was written by The Residents in 2007 to accompany the release of The Residents toy figures designed by Steve Cerio. The sound installation was not included in the final gallery presentation, however, and the essence of the much larger project was reduced to this piece, The Rivers of Hades. Haeckel's Tale: The Showtime Channel has a long running horror TV series, Masters of Horror. The season included a Clive Barker story, Haeckel's Tale. Director, John McNaughton (Henry, Portrait of a Serial Killer), was employed to oversee the project. McNaughton called in The Residents to score the film after having worked with them on a previous film, Condo Painting. For unknown reasons, the score was not used for the broadcast. Of these three 2007 projects overseen by Charles Bobuck, only The Rivers of Hades has been released on CDr in an extremely limited fan edition. This is the first release of Haeckel's Tale and Strange Culture on CD.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Haeckel's Tale Cue 1
  • Haeckel's Tale Cue 2
  • Haeckel's Tale Cue 3
  • Haeckel's Tale Cue 4
  • Haeckel's Tale Cue 5
  • Haeckel's Tale Cue 6
  • Haeckel's Tale Cue 7
  • Haeckel's Tale Cue 8
  • Haeckel's Tale Cue 9
  • Haeckel's Tale Cue 10
  • Strange Culture Cue 1
  • Strange Culture Cue 2
  • Strange Culture Cue 3
  • Strange Culture Cue 4
  • Strange Culture Cue 5
  • Strange Culture Cue 6
Disc 2:
  • Acheron
  • Cocytus
  • Lethe
  • Styx
  • Phlegethon

Additional Details

Label: Klanggalerie

Genre: Alternative/Punk

Language: English

Run Time: 82:00 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 01/15/16

UPC: 4013438100927

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed