Rev. Utah Smith & Rev. Lonnie Farris - Electric/Slide Guitar Gospel (1944-1964) (CD)

Save 15%
SKU: DOCD-5222

$ 12.80 $ 14.99


Rev. Utah Smith, one of the most animated of the post-war crop of gospel evangelists and the dynamic Hawaiian guitar of Rev. Lonnie Farris

One of the most animated of the post-war crop of gospel evangelists was Shreveport, Louisiana's Elder Utah Smith. Known as the 'Two-Winged Preacher', Smith began performing late in the 1920s and was using an electric guitar by 1942. Smith's masterpiece was undoubtedly 'Two Wings' which he recorded on each of his three released discs with varying degrees of intensity. The flip sides exhibit a considerable amount of diversity, with God's Mighty Hand apparently modelled closely on Elder Curry's 'Memphis Flu' from 1930, and Take A Trip reminiscent of the Carter Family's popular 'Gospel Ship'. This evangelistic dynamo whose volatile guitar pyrotechnics are enough to distract a discerning listener from the fact that none of it is affected with a slide.

The dynamic Hawaiian guitar of Reverend Lonnie Farris should be proof enough of the resilience and adaptability of modern gospel music. He began his recording career when a disc-jockey asked him to record some background music that Farris claimed became a hit record for which he was not paid. He started his own record company in 1962 (Farris Records), and this is the source of the recordings herein, which are all quite interesting and eclectic performances as likely to draw from a booting R & B saxophone style (They Are Ringing Them Bells) as popular C & W hits like Ted Daffan's Born To Lose (I'm So Happy And Free The Lord Save Me).

'l have to been offered a lot of money to play rock and roll, but I won't change- I have also played against a rock and roll band and I stole the show.' Amen.


Cast & Crew


Track Listing

    • I Want Two Wings
    • God's Mighty Hand
    • Two Wings
    • Take A Trip
    • I Got Two Wings
    • Glory To Jesus, I'm Free
    • Walk To Thee
    • Soldiers Of The Cross
    • What Mother Can Do
    • Golden Street
    • A Closer Walk To Thee
    • It's A Blessing To Call His Name
    • Peace In The Valley
    • I'm So Happy And Free The Lord Save Me
    • They Are Ringing Them Bells
    • Walk Around
    • In Your Kingdom
    • In That Clover Field
    • A Night At The House Of Prayer
    • Wondering Child Mother Is Dead
    • Peace In The Valley
    • His Love
    • The Holy Spirit

    Additional Details

    Label: Document Records

    Genre: Blues

    Language: English

    Run Time: 61 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 05/06/22

    UPC: 714298522228

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed