Rhys Marsh - Sentiment (CD)


$ 16.99


The debut solo album from the voice of The Autumn Ghost & Kaukasus.

The debut solo album from the voice of The Autumn Ghost & Kaukasus.

'Sentiment' is a journey into the darker side of the soul, both musically & lyrically, and is by far the most personal statement that Marsh has produced. Sonically & texturally, this is a dense album, full of thick atmospheres & intense dynamics.

From the outset, the urgency of 'Sentiment' breaks through the speakers with the first alarm-like chords of 'Calling In The Night', which will fight for your attention, and most likely win. The intensity runs straight through into the furiously-paced 'Burn The Brightest Day', the folk-noir tones of 'Pictures Of Ashes', and the ominous electronica-edged 'The Seventh Face'. It's only when we reach 'The Ghost Ship' that we're allowed a moment to reflect -- the melancholy taking the forefront, giving us some room to breathe. It's here that most Autumn Ghost fans will find comfort, but that comfort doesn't last for long...

The grandiose 'In The Sand' sets off the second half, its sonic beauty hiding a much darker lyrical theme. 'Last November' begins as a catchy, upbeat number, before taking a turn, leading us straight back into the maelstrom of harmonic chaos. The final two songs descend into the heaviest and darkest sounds that Marsh has released to date -- 'Silver Light & Blackened Eyes', with its nightmarish chromatic patterns, and 'Give Me (What You Need)', which pushes further and further towards the sun, before burning out in a wall of distortion and feedback.

The feeling of 'Sentiment' is urgent and intense. There's nowhere to hide in this music, wrapped in fuzz guitars, imposing bass synth, merciless rhythms and dissonant colourings. Its abrasive textures and unexpected turns -- mixed with the contrast of Marsh's trademark beautiful melodies, twisted here to a new dimension -- will keep the comfort levels to the minimum.

'Sentiment' features the singles 'The Seventh Face' & 'Last November'.

Track Listing

    • Calling In The Night
    • Burn The Brightest Day
    • Pictures Of Ashes
    • The Seventh Face
    • The Ghost Ship
    • In The Sand
    • Last November
    • Silver Light & Blackened Eyes
    • Give Me (What You Need)

    Additional Details

    Label: Autumnsongs Records

    Genre: Progressive Rock

    Language: English

    Run Time: 41:23 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 02/10/15

    UPC: 7071245149055

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed