Richard Hayman - The Richard Hayman Collection (CD)


$ 16.99


Richard Hayman, who died early in 2014 aged 93, was an American harmonica player, arranger and conductor

Richard Hayman, who died early in 2014 aged 93, was an American harmonica player, arranger and conductor, who was renowned both for his contribution to popular light music over several decades and for the flamboyant sequinned jackets which became an essential feature of his on-stage persona. He particular musical niche was in finding a role for his favoured instrument, the harmonica, in the orchestrations which he did for his orchestras, especially in the first two decades of his career, the '50s and '60s which is the era covered by this collection. In the last 50 years of his life he was closely associated with The Boston Pops Orchestra and The St. Louis Symphony Orchestras pops concerts. Just over half the tracks on this great value 53-track 2-CD set feature the harmonica as part of arrangements he did for his orchestra, recording throughout the period for Mercury, and including his big 1952 movie theme hit 'Ruby'. We also include other lush orchestral recordings he made as part of his prolific LP output showcasing the new stereo medium during the late '50s. Of special added interest are recordings he made with his orchestra accompanying Julian Cannonball Adderley on his 'Adderley With Strings' LP in 1955, and tracks from the same period accompanying the great Sarah Vaughan. It is an entertaining and enjoyable retrospective of the early career of an underrated artist.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Tears on Satin
  • Skipping Along
  • Marianne
  • Ruby
  • The Story Of Three Loves (Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini)
  • Huckleberry Finn
  • Song Of Lola
  • Winter Wonderland (for harmonica & orch.)
  • Turkey Mambo
  • Gobelues (George Gobel Theme)
  • Threepenny Opera Theme (Morita)
  • I'll be with you in apple blossom time
  • Autumn Concerto
  • On stage
  • Laura
  • Brazil
  • Santa Lucia
  • When I Fall In Love
  • Wintertime of Love
  • Alone At Last
  • Parade Of The Wooden Soldiers
  • You're Just In Love
  • Eldorado
  • The River Kwai March, Colonel Boogie
  • Dark Eyes Fantasy
  • Jersey Bounce
  • Polka (From The Golden Age Ballet by Shostakovitch)
  • Day Of The Painter
Disc 2:
  • A String Of Pearls
  • Gypsy Dance (From Carmen)
  • No Strings Attached
  • April In Portugal
  • Dansero
  • Eternally (Terry's Theme from Limelight)
  • Mademoiselle de Paris
  • Rhapsodero
  • Corrida
  • Sarabande
  • Danse Calinda
  • Night Train
  • You are too beautiful
  • I cover the waterfront
  • Street of dreams
  • Falling in love with love
  • Polka dots and moonbeams
  • The surrey with the fringe on top
  • Lonely dreams
  • A foggy day
  • I've never been in love before
  • My funny Valentine
  • I still believe in you
  • My one and only love
  • Come along with me

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: Adult Contemporary/MOR

Language: English

Run Time: 150 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 06/03/14

UPC: 824046310820

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed