Ricky Nelson - The Ballads Of Ricky Nelson (CD)

Save 38%
SKU: BCD17212

$ 12.92 $ 20.99


1-CD-Album Digipak (4-plated) with 36-page booklet, 30 tracks, total playing time approx. 72 minutes

30 essential tracks, recorded between 1957-62, for the Verve and Imperial labels. An eclectic compilation of Ricky Nelson's ballads, juxtaposing sixteen well-known hits alongside lesser-known B-sides and LP tracks. Includes the million-selling Poor Little Fool, Lonesome Town, A Teenager's Romance, Never Be Anyone Else But You, Young World and Teen Age Idol. Also features B-sides like Have I Told You Lately That I Love You and Don't Leave Me This Way, as well as killer album tracks like Someday (You'll Want Me To Want You), which was also a UK hit single, Half Breed, Unchained Melody, Honeycomb and Restless Kid. The lavish, 36-page booklet comprises in-depth liner notes ,rare photos and a detailed discography.

Ricky Nelson was just sixteen years old when he cut his first record in 1957. But his cover of Fats Domino's I'm Walkin' quickly out sold the original version and set Ricky Nelson up for a career which would see him become a major Teen Idol, second only to Elvis during the 50s.

Whilst he was known predominantly as a rocker, this unique compilation presents thirty of Ricky Nelson's most memorable R&R ballads, recorded between 1957-62. Included are sixteen US hits, including his first #1 Poor LittleFool, alongside a carefully-chosen selection of B-sides and album tracks.

Although he was a massive R&R star himself, Ricky Nelson remaineda lifelong fan of artists like Carl Perkins, Johnny Cash, Jerry Lee Lewis and Elvis, and his LPs often reflected this, frequently including cover versions of their material. The pick of Ricky's coverversions can be found on this compilation.

'The Ballads of Ricky Nelson' is presented in Digipak format and features all the usual high standard Bear Family trademarks; a 36-page booklet with abundant photographs, biographical information and full discographical and session details of the featured tracks.

Track Listing

    • Prisoner Of War
    • Poor Little Fool
    • I'll Walk Alone
    • Lonesome Town (Version 1)
    • I'm Feelin' Sorry
    • A Teenager's Romance
    • Someday (You'll Want Me To Want You)
    • You're My One And Only Love
    • Don't Leave Me This Way
    • Have I Told You Lately That I Love
    • Trying To Get To You
    • Never Be Anyone Else But You
    • I Can't Help It
    • Sweeter Than You (Version 2)
    • Honeycomb
    • I Wanna Be Loved
    • Young Emotions
    • Unchained Melody
    • I'm Not Afraid
    • I'm Confessin'
    • You Are The Only One
    • Half Breed
    • A Wonder Like You
    • True Love
    • Everlovin'
    • Restless Kid
    • Young World
    • Proving My Love
    • Teen Age Idol
    • Everybody But Me

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 72 mins

    Release Date: 03/15/13

    UPC: 5397102172120

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed