Ronnie Scott - Fast And Loose: Live In 1954 (CD)


$ 11.99


By 1954, the famous Ronnie Scott nine-piece was half-way through its two and a half year lifespan, but was at its peak

By 1954, the famous Ronnie Scott nine-piece was not only approximately half-way through its two and a half year lifespan, but it was arguably at its peak. Formed early the previous year, and led by indisputably the most charismatic figure in British modern jazz, the band's stock-in-trade was controversy - daring to include as much modern jazz as it could on the dance hall circuit. Its co-operative policy was described by one of its members, the saxophonist Benny Green, as 'syncopated Marxism', whilst its on-the-road antics prompted the group's drummer Tony Crombie to remember the unit's band bus as 'a madhouse on wheels'. Nevertheless, packed full of the brightest parochial talent, including trumpeter Jimmy Deuchar and alto saxophonist Derek Humble, the band was among the most consistently musical of its generation and could sunder any opposition. The addition of multi-instrumental wunderkind Victor Feldman during 1954 only added to the groups varied talents. The band' s BBC Overseas Service broadcast of March 17th 1954 followed the pattern of two previous appearances on the airwaves by being pressed and released by Esquire Records under the prophetic title of The Ronnie Scott Jazz Club Vol.3 and yet despite its excellent and diverse content it was soon deleted, quickly becoming a highly prized collector's item. This Acrobat release includes not only all of the original LP but adds a further session recorded a month later by Scott and the band's rhythm section, which features three performances that are previously unissued. Complete with rare photos, press clippings and an extensive booklet essay by saxophonist Simon Spillett, this release is an absolute must for fans of British modern jazz.

Track Listing

    • Fast and Loose
    • Body Beautiful
    • Yardbird Suite
    • If I Should Lose You
    • In the Land of Nimbupani
    • Laura
    • Oo-Be-Shoo-Be-Do-Be
    • This Can't Be Love
    • Dear Old Southland
    • El Sino
    • I Wished On The Moon
    • Nemo
    • Sunshine On A Dull Day
    • Fools Rush In
    • Poor Butterfly
    • Perfidia

    Additional Details

    Label: Acrobat

    Genre: Jazz

    Language: English

    Run Time: 75 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 06/03/14

    UPC: 824046437626

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed