Roosevelt Sykes - Collection 1929-47 (CD)


$ 21.30


Roosevelt Sykes was a hugely popular and influential exponent of the rollicking barrel-house style of blues

Roosevelt Sykes was a hugely popular and influential exponent of the rollicking barrel-house style of blues piano playing and composition whose core career spanned the decades spanning WWII. Recording initially under a variety of names, and finding his greatest popularity when he adopted the soubriquet 'The Honeydripper', he recorded a substantial body of work variously for the Okeh, Decca and RCA Victor labels, which included classics of the genre like 'The Honeydripper', 'Night Time Is The Right Time', '44 Blues', 'Boot That Thing' and 'Driving Wheel Blues'. This great value 75-track 3-CD set selects material from across those key decades of his career from his earliest recordings through to the time when he began to be overtaken by the new electric blues in the late '40s. It includes solo recordings along with those as a duo with a drummer, and, in the later years, with a variety of small groups.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • 44 Blues
  • Boot That Thing
  • Henry Ford Blues
  • Skeet And Garret
  • Roosevelt's Blues
  • Lost All I Had Blues
  • 32-20 Blues
  • 3-6 & 9
  • Kelly's Special
  • Nasty But It's Clean
  • Highway 61 Blues
  • Big Legs Ida Blues
  • D-B-A Blues
  • Dirty Mother For You (Don't You Know)
  • She Left Me Cold In Hand
  • Cannon Ball
  • Jet Black Snake
  • Driving Wheel blues
  • Sister Kelly Blues
  • The Honey Dripper
  • Night Time Is The Right Time
  • Little And Low
  • Monte Carlo Blues
  • Hospital, Heaven Or Hell
  • Drunken Gambler
Disc 2:
  • Love Lease Blues
  • Hard Lead Pencil
  • Sad Yas Yas (You Fade Away Like Morning Dew)
  • The Road To Ruin
  • Mistake In Life
  • Night Time Is The Right Time No. 2
  • She's Long Gone
  • The Train Is Coming (No More Baby Talk)
  • Down On My Knees
  • Have You Seen Ida B.
  • Bitter Cup Blues
  • Journey From The Germs
  • You Can't Fix It Back
  • Get Your Bow Out (Then You Will Understand)
  • Yellow Yam Blues
  • Right Now
  • Essie Mae Blues
  • She's Got What it Takes
  • Pistol Shootin' Blues
  • Eight Ball Blues
  • 47th Street Jive
  • Doin' The Sally Long (Flames Od Evaporation)
  • Low As A Toad
  • Prison Gate Blues
Disc 3:
  • K.M.A. Blues
  • Just Hanging Around
  • Pay Day Blues
  • 15c A Day
  • Roll On Blues
  • Keep Your Hands Off Her
  • Skin And Bone Blues
  • Let The Black Have His Way
  • Third Degree Blues
  • Training Camp Blues
  • Sugar Babe Blues
  • I Wonder
  • Love Has Something To Say
  • Tender Hearted Woman Blues (I'll Wear The Pants)
  • Don't Push Me Around
  • Date Bait
  • Tonight
  • Living In A Different World
  • Flames Of Jive
  • Bop De Bip
  • Bobby Sox Blues
  • Walkin' And Drinkin'
  • Mama Mama
  • Booze Blues
  • Until The Cows Come Home

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: Blues

Language: English

Run Time: 225 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 08/12/14

UPC: 824046904029

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed