Rosemary Clooney & Prado Perez - The Velvet Lounge: A Touch Of Tabasco Plus (CD) 1

Save 38%
SKU: BCD17144

$ 11.69 $ 18.99


1-CD-Album DigiPac (4-plated) with 28-page booklet, 17 tracks. Playing time ca. 51 minutes

Opposites attract' may be a familiar, worn-out saying but it's often true, even in artistic and professional circumstances. It applies to certain unlikely collaborations in popular music precisely because the participants' differences lead to striking combined results. It's especially true in the case of Rosemary Clooney and Perez Prado.

During three Hollywood sessions in July and August 1959, two different musical worlds collided. Over here was the current star Rosemary Clooney, from Kentucky, a woman who shaped the popular music of the 1950s with hits like Come On-a My House, Hey There, This Ole House and others. Over there was the mambo king from Cuba, Perez Prado, older by twelve years, whose super hits Cherry Pink And Apple Blossom White and Patricia had become evergreens in music history.

Their collaboration resulted in 'A Touch Of Tabasco,' an album merging Latin standards and all-American songs. At the start, the language issues between the two stars and their musicians did not help the project move ahead smoothly but Clooney's husband, Jose 'Joe' Ferrer, from Puerto Rico, helped break down the barriers. He taught his wife the required Spanish articulation enabling her to sing Latin classics like Corazon De Melon, Adios and Cu-Cu-Rru-Cu-Cu Paloma.

The two singers were accompanied in the studio by first-rate musicians, some who had already made their name on records or in various bands and others who were just emerging. The list includes ace cats like horn players Ollie Mitchell and Paul J. Horn, and drummers Leo Acosta and Earl Cyril Palmer. They made sure that the Clooney/Prado versions of legendary tunes like Mack The Knife (from Berthold Brecht's The Threepenny Opera), In A Little Spanish Town, Cole Porter's You Do Something To Me, and Bali Ha'i (from the top musical 'South Pacific') received a personal, original treatment.
Read more at:

Track Listing

    • Mack The Knife
    • Corazon De Melon (Watermelon Heart)
    • Like A Woman
    • Sway
    • Magic Is The Moonlight
    • You Do Something To Me
    • Adios
    • In A Little Spanish Town
    • I Only Have Eyes For You
    • I Got Plenty O' Nuttin'
    • Bali Ha'i
    • Cu-Cu-Ru-Cu-Cu Paloma
    • Summertime Love
    • Amor
    • Sania
    • Amor (A rare glimpse into a recording session
    • Summertime Love (A rare glimpse into a record

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 51 mins

    Release Date: 05/30/11

    UPC: 4000127171443

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed