Rusty Draper - Collection 1939-62 (CD)

Save 24%

$ 12.92 $ 16.99


Rusty Draper was a country singer and guitarist who began his career in playing on country radio shows

Rusty Draper was a country singer and guitarist who began his career in playing on country radio shows in the mid-West before becoming a radio announcer during the 1940s and finding a niche as a nightclub singer in California in the early '50s when he made his first television appearances, leading to a recording contract with Mercury as he made the transition into pure pop music, although he always retained some country roots. This excellent-value 60-track 2-CD set contains some examples of his early country recordings on different labels and under different names - with The Sons Of The Ozarks for Bluebird, as Rusty Draper & The Dreamers for Coast, and with Ozark Red for Cavalier , but mainly comprises selected A & B sides from his releases for Mercury over the first decade or so with the label, which represented the core of his chart career. It features his thirteen pop, country and UK chart entries from these years, including the Top 10 pop hits 'No Help Wanted', 'Gambler's Guitar', 'The Shifting, Whispering Sands', and 'Freight Train'. It includes collaborations with Patti Page, Lola Dee and Ralph Marterie. It's a substantial selection of his work, which provides an excellent showcase for his extrovert vocal style.


Cast & Crew


Track Listing

Disc 1:
  •  My Sweet Irene From Illinois
  • I Must Have All Or Nothing
  • Red's Boogie
  • Just Because
  • Devil Of A Woman
  • Sing, Baby, Sing
  • Wedding Bells
  • Angry
  • No Help Wanted
  • Texarkana Baby
  • Big Mamou
  • Gambler's Guitar
  • A Free Home Demonstration
  • Lazy River
  • I Love To Jump
  • Lonesome Song
  • Easter Morning
  • Train With The Rumba Beat
  • Knock On Wood
  • The Workshop Of The Lord
  • The Magic Circle
  • Muskrat Ramble
  • The Ballad Of Davy Crockett
  • Eating Goober Peas
  • Seventeen
  • I Can't Live Without Them Anymore
  • The Shifting, Whispering Sands
  • Time
  • Wabash Cannon Ball
Disc 2:
  • Are You Satisfied
  • Held For Questioning
  • The Gun Of Billy The Kid
  • Rock And Roll Ruby
  • In The Middle Of The House
  • Pink Cadillac
  • Behind Those Swingin’ Doors
  • Giant
  • Confidential
  • Tiger Lily
  • Let's Go Calypso
  • Should I Ever Love Again
  • Freight Train
  • Seven Come Eleven
  • Good Golly Pretty Molly
  • I Get The Blues When It Rains
  • Gamblin’ Gal
  • June, July And August
  • Shoppin' Around
  • Hey Li Lee Li Lee Li
  • Don't Forget Your Shoes
  • All For The Love Of Flo
  • That Lucky Old Sun
  • Mule Skinner Blues
  • Please Help Me I'm Falling
  • It's A Little More Like Heaven
  • Jealous Heart
  • Another
  • Signed, Sealed And Delivered
  • When I've Learned
  • Beggar To A King

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: Country

Language: English

Run Time: 143 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 08/07/20

UPC: 824046334628

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed