Shotgun Boogie: Rhythm & Blues Goes Country, Vol.1 (CD)

Save 38%
SKU: BCD17701

$ 11.69 $ 18.99


-There has always been a lively exchange between musicians in the USA - regardless of skin color
-With 'Shotgun Boogie', Bear Family Records® documents in text and sound how R&B musicians successfully covered songs from the country music songbook
-Smiley Lewis sings Link Davis' Big Mamou, Joe Liggins Johnnie Lee Wills' Rag Mop, Sonny Knight sings Hank Williams' country tearjerker Lovesick Blues, the Crows cover Bill Carlisle's No Help Wanted, Guitar Jr. brilliantly interprets Harlan Howard's Pick Me Up On Your Way Down and Cecil Gant grooves through Tennessee Ernie Ford's Shotgun Boogie
-29 carefully remastered recordings from the best sources
-Liner notes by renowned music expert Bill Dahl

Even casual music fans recognize the seismic impact rhythm and blues made on country music during the mid-1950s as a new generation of performers embraced rockabilly. Yet a reverse effect could also be evident, dating all the way back to the postwar era. After all, a great song was a great song, whether Wynonie Harris was belting Louis Innis' Good Morning Judge and Hank Penny's Bloodshot Eyes or The Griffin Brothers, Fat Man Robinson,and Sonny Knight were individually latching on to one Hank Williams classic or another to give them a snazzy R&B spin. That's the premise behind Bear Family's 29-song 'Shotgun Boogie - Rhythm & Blues Goes Country Vol. 1,' as both B.B. King and The Platters give Tennessee Ernie Ford's immortal smash Sixteen Tons contrasting readings that songwriter Merle Travis could never have envisioned, while the lusty Bull Moose Jackson unfurls his deep-toned pipes on three country classics from his deep catalog at King Records. Who would have ever expected Scatman Crothers, Smiley Lewis, and Joe Liggins to traffic in hillbilly covers, much less Lonnie 'Guitar Jr.' Brooks or boogie pianist Cecil Gant?But they're all here, eloquently illustrating the inexorable connection between R&B and C&W - albeit in the reverse direction from what the history books preach!

Track Listing

    • Wynonie Harris - Good Morning Judge
    • Cootie Williams (vocal: Eddie Mack) - Shot Gun Boogie
    • Bull Moose Jackson - Why Don't You Haul Off And Love Me
    • The Crows - No Help Wanted
    • Tommy Edwards - Don't Fence Me In
    • The Griffin Brothers feat. Margie Day - It'd Surprise You
    • Scatman Crothers - Ghost Riders In The Sky
    • Smiley Lewis - Big Mamou
    • Sonny Knight - Lovesick Blues
    • Lucky Millinder and His Orchestra - Chew Tobacco Rag
    • The Platters - Sixteen Tons
    • Piano Red - It Makes No Difference Now
    • Joey Thomas - Cherokee Boogie (Eh-Oh-Aleena)
    • The Orioles - Crying In The Chapel
    • Wynonie Harris - Bloodshot Eyes
    • Joe Liggins and his Honeydrippers - Rag Mop
    • Bull Moose Jackson - If You Ain't Lovin' (You Ain't Livin')
    • Pearl Reaves and 'The Concords' - You Can't Stay Here (Step It Up And Go)
    • Cootie Williams (vocal: Eddie Mack) - Divorce Me C.O.D. Blues
    • Earl Hooker - Steel Guitar Rag
    • Fat Man Robinson Quintet - My Bucket's Got A Hole In It
    • Hal Singer and His Orchestra - Indian Love Call
    • Guitar Jr. - Pick Me Up On Your Way Down
    • The Hurricanes - Pistol Packin' Mama
    • The Griffin Brothers - Move It On Over
    • Bob Gaddy and His Alley Cats - No Help Wanted
    • B. B. King - 16 Tons
    • Moose Jackson - Cherokee Boogie (Eh-Oh-Aleena)
    • Cecil Gant - Shot Gun Boogie

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: R & B

    Run Time: 79:00 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 04/05/24

    UPC: 4000127177018

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed