Skeeter Davis - Complete RCA Singles As & Bs 1953-62 (CD)

Save 24%

$ 12.92 $ 16.99
In stock (28 units), ready to be shipped


Country star Skeeter Davis enjoyed a chart career that lasted nearly a quarter of a century

Country star Skeeter Davis enjoyed a chart career that lasted nearly a quarter of a century from the early '50s through to 1976, her personality and the quality of her voice enabling her to successfully adapt to the changing idioms within the genre. Coming to prominence in the pop charts as she did with the iconic hit 'The End Of The World', many fans may well be unaware of the dues that she paid before that major success which saw her almost top the US pop charts. By the time that classic record was released towards the end of 1962 - it is in fact the last single to be featured in this collection - she had already had a significant career focused purely on the country market, recording initially with her friend Bette Jack Davis as The Davis Sisters and then, after a break of a couple of years, resuming her career as a solo artist in 1958. This great value 55-track 2-CD set comprises the A and B side of every single she released from her 1953 debut as part of The Davis Sisters and then as a solo artist through to the end of 1962, plus eleven bonus album tracks from here two solo albums from the period 'I'll Sing You A Song And Harmonise Too' and 'Here's The Answer', the latter trading on her success with 'answer' records like her debut solo hit 'Lost To A Geisha Girl', and the Top 5 hits '(I Can't Help You) I'm Falling Too', and 'My Last Date With You'. It features her 1953 debut country No. 1 as The Davis Sisters 'I Forgot More Than You'll Ever Know', plus her twelve solo hits during the period, including the Top 10 successes 'Set Him Free', 'Optimistic' and 'Where I Ought To Be', and ending with the classic 'End of The World'. It's a thorough overview of her first decade as a recording artist, which set the scene for a long and successful career

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • I Forgot More Than You'll Ever Know
  • Rock-A-Bye Boogie
  • You're Gone
  • Sorrow And Pain
  • Takin' Time Out For Tears
  • Gotta Get A-Goin'
  • You Weren't Ashamed To Kiss Me Last Night
  • Foggy Mountain Top
  • Show Me
  • Just Like Me
  • The Christmas Boogie
  • Tomorrow I'll Cry
  • Everlovin'
  • Tomorrow's Just Another Day To Cry
  • Fiddle Diddle Boogie
  • Come Back To Me
  • I'll Get Him Back
  • I've Closed The Door
  • Baby Be Mine
  • It's The Girl Who Gets The Blame
  • Don't Take Him For Granted
  • Blues For Company
  • Lonely And Blue
  • Lying Brown Eyes
  • He Left His Heart With Me
  • Don't Let Your Lips Say Yes
  • Lost To A Geisha Girl
  • I'm Going Steady With A Heartache
  • Walk Softly Darling
  • I Need You All The Time
  • Wave Bye Bye
Disc 2:
  • I Ain't A-Talkin'
  • Slave
  • Set Him Free
  • The Devil's Doll
  • Homebreaker
  • Give Me Death
  • Am I That Easy To Forget
  • Wishful Thinking
  • (I Can't Help You) I'm Falling Too
  • No, Never
  • My Last Date (With You)
  • Someone I'd Like To Forget
  • The Hand You're Holding Now
  • Someday Someday
  • Optimistic
  • Blueberry Hill
  • Where I Ought To Be
  • Something Precious
  • The Little Music Box
  • The Final Step
  • The End Of The World
  • Somebody Loves You
  • The One You Slip Around With
  • Just When I Needed You
  • Your Cheatin' Heart
  • Chained To A Memory
  • He'll Have To Stay
  • Tell Tommy I Miss Him
  • I Really Want You To Know

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: Country

Language: English

Run Time: 143 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 12/09/16

UPC: 824046318321

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed