Slim Harpo - Rocks (CD)

Save 38%
SKU: BCD17129

$ 12.92 $ 20.99


1-CD-Album DigiPac with 32-page booklet, 31 tracks. Playing time approx. 76 mns

White rock bands couldn't get enough of Slim Harpo's atmospheric harmonica and nasal vocals. This is the music which inspired Canned Heat, Them, the Pretty Things and, of course, the Rolling Stones who revived I'm A King Bee and Shake Your Hips. Difficult-to-find selections include Cigarettes (digitally unleashed for the first time) and Slim Harpo's craziest rocker, Wild About My Baby. But the big hits are here too; no retrospective would be complete without Baby Scratch My Back and Rainin' In My Heart. Small ensemble electrified country blues that really rocks!

James 'Slim Harpo' Moore (1924-1970) crammed a great deal into his 45 years. One of the biggest Southern blues stars of the '50s, Slim Harpo appealed to rockabillies of all generations. Sun artist Warren Smith covered I Got Love If You Want It while Marty Stuart revived Shake Your Hips. Rock 'n' roll collectors embraced Slim Harpo's originals and a slew of similarly crisp, pounding rockers on the Excello label. The white blues boom opened new doors for Slim Harpo in the mid-to-late '60s but, amongst the soul and psychedelic movements, Slim Harpo still found time to rock 'n' roll.

This collection draws on all phases of Slim's 13 year recording career. As reissues go, his finest up tempo sides are scattered all over the place but this compilation cherry-picks 30 of the best, adding his archetypal swamp blues ballad, 'Rainin' In My Heart', as a bonus. It's the perfect overview of a largely unheralded rocker.

Track Listing

    • Wild About My Baby
    • I Got Love If You Want It
    • I'm A King Bee
    • You'll Be Sorry One Day
    • That Ain't Your Business
    • Buzz Me Babe
    • My Little Queen Bee (Got A Brand New King)
    • I'm Waiting On You Baby
    • Something Inside Me
    • Bobby-Sox Baby
    • I Need Money (Keep Your Alibis)
    • Yeah Yeah Baby
    • Shake Your Hips
    • Harpo's Blues
    • Don't Start Cryin' Now
    • Boogie Chillun
    • Baby, Scratch My Back
    • Buzzin' (instrumental)
    • Hey Little Lee
    • The Music's Hot
    • Wondering And Worryin'
    • Late Last Night
    • That's Alright (aka You'll Be Sorry One Day)
    • That's Alright Baby (aka Don't Start Cryin' N
    • Cigarettes
    • You Ain't Never Had To Cry
    • Rainin' In My Heart

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Pop/Rock

    Run Time: 76 mins

    Release Date: 11/15/11

    UPC: 4000127171290

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed