Smiley Lewis - Collection: 1947-61 (CD)


$ 17.90


Smiley Lewis was one of the unluckiest artists to emerge during the R&B era of the early '50s

Smiley Lewis was one of the unluckiest artists to emerge during the R&B era of the early '50s and the formative years of rock 'n' roll, overshadowed as he was by another R&B star from New Orleans, Fats Domino, which meant he played second fiddle to Domino throughout his career, and even saw some of his biggest hits and best-known songs, such as 'I Hear You Knocking', 'One Night' and 'Shame Shame Shame', covered by other mainstream pop artists. He was signed to Imperial, the same label as Domino, and had the same producer, Dave Bartholomew, which exacerbated his slightly secondary status, and his chart profile was relatively modest, but over the years he consistently recorded some fine blues and R&B material in the distinctive New Orleans style and was considerably more influential than his roster of hits would indicate. This great value 60-track 2-CD set collection comprises the A sides of all his Imperial releases, along with almost all the B sides, plus one of his early 1947 singles for the De Luxe label. It's a worthy and comprehensive overview of his career

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Turn On Your Volume Baby
  • Here Comes Smiley
  • Tee-Nah-Nah
  • Lowdown
  • Slide Me Down
  • Growing Old
  • Dirty People
  • If You Ever Loved A Woman
  • Bee's Boogie
  • My Baby Was Right
  • The Bells Are Ringing
  • Lillie Mae
  • Gumbo Blues
  • It's So Peaceful
  • Gypsy Blues
  • You're Not The One
  • Play Girl
  • Big Mamou
  • Caldonia's Party
  • Oh Baby
  • Little Fernandez
  • It's Music
  • Down The Road
  • Blue Monday
  • I Love You For Sentimental Reasons
  • The Rocks
  • Can't Stop Loving You
  • That Certain Door
  • Too Many Drivers
Disc 2:
  • Ooh La La
  • Jailbird
  • Farewell
  • Real Gone Lover
  • Nobody Knows
  • I Hear You Knocking
  • Bumpity Bump
  • Queen Of Hearts
  • Come On
  • One Night
  • Ain't Gonna Do It
  • She's Got Me (Hook, Line And Sinker)
  • Please Listen To Me
  • Someday You'll Want Me
  • Down Yonder (We Go Ballin')
  • Shame, Shame, Shame
  • No No
  • You Are My Sunshine
  • Sweeter Words (Have Never Been Told)
  • Go On Fool
  • Goin' To Jump And Shout
  • Rootin' And Tootin'
  • I Can't Believe
  • Bad Luck Blues
  • School Days Are Back Again
  • Lil' Liza Jane
  • Oh Red!
  • I Want To Be With Her
  • Last Night
  • Ain't Goin' There No More
  • Stormy Monday Blues

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: R & B

Language: English

Run Time: 142 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 05/06/16

UPC: 824046315726

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed