Sonny Burns - The Devil's Disciple (CD)

SKU: BCD17154

$ 14.24 $ 18.99


1-CD DigiPac (4-plated) with 28-page booklet, 21 tracks. Total playing time approx. 56 minutes

Texas honky-tonk singer Sonny Burns' Second Coming from the 1960s.
Exploring Sonny's career with great recordings from 1959 to the late 1960s.
Presenting his TNT, United Artists, and MGM masters.
Including previously unissued masters.

Anyone reading about the implosion of Sonny Burns' career in the mid-50s -- when the East Texas honky-tonk singer sank from sight while his friend, label mate and sometime duet partner George Jones rocketed to stardom -- might be surprised to find out that there was a Second Coming in the 1960s. 'Devil's Disciple' picks up where Bear Family's first collection devoted to Sonny Burns, 'Too Hot To Handle,' which covered his Starday years of 1953-56, left off, exploring Sonny's recording career from 1959 to the end of the 1960s. The story of Burns' first flirtation with fame, and his at least partly self-induced fall, is the stuff of country music legend because it has been so closely linked with the rise of Jones, the most revered country singer of the post-Hank Williams years. There is an implication in the way Burns' story is usually told that the singer somehow got a raw deal, that it might easily have been he who shot to stardom and not Jones. That it was less a raw deal than a matter of timing and commitment doesn't change the fact that Sonny Burns was one of the most talented and memorable artists of the era. And his second stab at stardom chronicled here resulted in some great recordings.

'Devil's Disciple' begins in 1959, three years after Sonny's last Starday session, when, having in his own assessment hit rock bottom, Burns began to claw his way back onto the scene with a single for the San Antonio-based independent label TNT. Following from that record, this collections traces Burns' comeback through his 1961-63 recordings for United Artists and his final 1968 session for MGM...Read more at:

Track Listing

    • Never Say Never
    • I Sat Down On A Bear Trap
    • I Left One On The Bar
    • Leave The Leaving Up To Me
    • Spread My Wings And Fly
    • Bottom Of The Bottle
    • Leave The Door Open
    • Patches On My Heart
    • Blue House Painted White
    • Where No One Else Is Allowed
    • And Then Some
    • Take A Good Look
    • Bricks And Mortar
    • Devil's Disciple
    • I Just Slipped Your Mind
    • I'm Losing My Mind
    • Never, Never Land
    • Penny Love
    • Must I Leave It There
    • Room Next To Mine
    • Little Car Draggin' The Shoes
    • Leave The Leaving Up To Me (alt)

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Country

    Run Time: 56 mins

    Release Date: 02/06/15

    UPC: 5397102171543

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed